PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL

COMMITTEE REPORT

2020 Legislative Session

Reference No.: APPOINTMENTS: PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY HOUSING

AUTHORITY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Draft No.:

Committee: COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Date: 10/29/2020

Action: FAV

REPORT:

Committee Vote: Favorable, 10-0 (In favor: Council Members Turner, Anderson-Walker, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras)

The Committee of the Whole convened on October 29, 2020 to consider four appointments to the Prince George's County Housing Authority Board of Commissioners. The Annotated Code of Maryland, Division II, Housing Authorities, Title 17, authorizes the Board to exercise its powers to provide housing, housing rehabilitation, housing projects, integrally related commercial structures, and their financing for County residents as well as exercise other functions and responsibilities required by the County, including community development.

Mr. Euron R. Blackwell, a resident of Oxon Hill, is being appointed for a three-year term with term expiration in October 2023. Mr. W. Marshall Knight, II, a resident of Upper Marlboro, and Ms. Regina Miller Nadir, a resident of Bowie, are both being appointed for two-year terms with term expiration on October 24, 2022. Mr. Brett A. Theodos, a resident of Cheverly, is being appointed for a four-year term expiring on October 24, 2024.

Ms. Miriam Brewer, the County Executive's Appointments Liaison, introduced the nominees. Each nominee summarized their background and qualifications to serve on the Housing Authority Board of Commissioners. The nominees responded to Council Members' questions concerning their experience and vision to satisfy the responsibilities of this Board.

After discussion, the Committee of the Whole voted, 10-0, in favor of the appointments to the Prince George's County Housing Authority Board of Commissioners.