

# PRINCE GEORGE'SIESUNTY

"Building the People's Movement

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member

February 23, 2021

The Hon. Joanne C. Benson, Chair Prince George's County Senate Delegation James Senate Office Building, Room 214 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 The Hon. Erek L. Barron, Chair Prince George's County House Delegation Lowe House Office Building, Room 207E Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

### Re: Prince George's County Council's Position on General Assembly Legislation

Dear Senator Benson & Delegate Barron:

It is my pleasure, on behalf of the Prince George's County Council, to transmit our position on pending proposed State legislation for the 2021 General Assembly Session. The Council met on February 23, 2021. The enclosed report reflects our positions on General Assembly bills as they are currently drafted.

The Council appreciates the opportunity to work together with you and your colleagues to address issues important to our citizens and the operation of Prince George's County. Should you have any questions or need additional information please do not hesitate to contact me. For your convenience my office phone number is (301) 952-2195.

Thanks again, for favorable consideration of the Council's positions.

Sincerely,

Calvin S. Hawkins, II

Chair

#### Enclosures

cc: Hon. Angela D. Alsobrooks, Prince George's County Executive

Hon. Guy Guzzone, Chair – Senate Budget & Taxation Committee

Hon. Delores G. Kelley, Chair - Senate Finance Committee

Hon. William C. Smith, Jr., Chair – Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

Hon. Luke Clippinger, Chair – House Judiciary Committee

Hon. Anne R. Kaiser, Chair – House Ways & Means Committee



# PRINCE GEORGE'SIESUNTY

"Building the People's Movement"

#### Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member

### COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE REPORT

The Prince George's County Council met on February 23, 2021 with the following Members present:

Council Member, Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Council Member, Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair Council Member, Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member, Derrick L. Davis Council Member, Thomas E. Dernoga Council Member, Mel Franklin

Council Member, Dannielle M. Glaros Council Member, Sydney J. Harrison

Council Member, Jolene Ivey

Council Member, Rodney C. Streeter Council Member, Todd M. Turner

The Council voted for the following positions on the respective bills:

SB 843 / HB 67 I-495 and I-270 Public-Private Partnership - Partnership Agreement - Requirements

(Maryland Department of Transportation Promises Act of 2021) – **SUPPORT** 

WITH AMENDMENT

SB 118 / HB 68 Baltimore City and Prince George's County - Diversionary and Reentry Program –

**SUPPORT** 

SB 218 Income Tax - Child Tax Credit and Expansion of the Earned Income Credit –

SUPPORT AS AMENDED