

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member PRINCE GEORGE'SI

"Building the People's Movement"

March 4, 2021

The Hon. Joanne C. Benson, Chair Prince George's County Senate Delegation James Senate Office Building, Room 214 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 The Hon. Erek L. Barron, Chair Prince George's County House Delegation Lowe House Office Building, Room 207E Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Re: Prince George's County Council's Position on General Assembly Legislation

Dear Senator Benson & Delegate Barron:

It is my pleasure, on behalf of the Prince George's County Council, to transmit our position on pending proposed State legislation for the 2021 General Assembly Session. The Council met on March 2, 2021 and March 4, 2021. The enclosed report reflects our positions on General Assembly bills as they are currently drafted.

The Council appreciates the opportunity to work together with you and your colleagues to address issues important to our citizens and the operation of Prince George's County. Should you have any questions or need additional information please do not hesitate to contact me. For your convenience my office phone number is (301) 952-2195.

Thanks again, for favorable consideration of the Council's positions.

Sincerely,

al Stam 1

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Council Chair

Enclosures

cc: Hon. Angela D. Alsobrooks, Prince George's County Executive
Hon. Paul G. Pinsky, Chair – Senate Education, Health & Environmental Affairs Committee
Hon. Delores G. Kelley, Chair – Senate Finance Committee
Hon. William C. Smith, Jr., Chair – Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee
Hon. Kumar P. Barve, Chair – House Environment & Transportation Committee
Hon. Luke Clippinger, Chair – House Judiciary Committee
Hon. Anne R. Kaiser, Chair – House Ways & Means Committee



PRINCE GEORGE'SI

"Building the People's Movement"

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE REPORT

The Prince George's County Council met on March 2, 2021 and March 4, 2021 with the following Members present:

Council Member, Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Council Member, Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair Council Member, Monique Anderson-Walker Council Member, Derrick L. Davis Council Member, Thomas E. Dernoga Council Member, Mel Franklin Council Member, Mel Franklin Council Member, Dannielle M. Glaros Council Member, Sydney J. Harrison Council Member, Jolene Ivey Council Member, Rodney C. Streeter Council Member, Todd M. Turner

The Council voted for the following positions on the respective bills:

SB 494 / HB 409	Juveniles Convicted as Adults - Sentencing - Limitations and Reduction (Juvenile Restoration Act) – SUPPORT
SB 800 / HB 1337	Inmate Training and Job Act of 2021 – SUPPORT
HB 991	Natural Resources – Forest Mitigation Banks – Qualified Preservation – SUPPORT
HB 1010 / PG 415	Prince George's County – Payment in Lieu of Taxes Agreements – Low–Income Housing – SUPPORT
HB 977 (PG-414-21)	Prince George's County – Public Safety and Behavioral Health Surcharges – Behavioral Health Programs – SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENT
HB 625 (PG-307-21)	Prince George's County – Alcoholic Beverages – Alcohol Density Zones and Licenses - SUPPORT AS AMENDED