

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8 Derrick Leon Davis, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3 Sydney J. Harrison, District 3 Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2 Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, March 8, 2021

11:30 AM

VIRTUAL MEETING

11:30 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

 The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II at

 11:34 a.m. with eleven members present.

 Present:
 11 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

 Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

 Council Member Derrick Davis

 Council Member Thomas Dernoga

 Council Member Mel Franklin

Council Member Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Sydney Harrison

Council Member Jolene Ivey

Council Member Rodney Streeter

Council Member Deni Taveras

Council Member Todd Turner

Also Present: Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050 William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant Leonard D. Moses, Zoning Assistant Sandra Eubanks, EWD Committee Director J. Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer James-Walker Bey, Zoning Reference Aide

BRIEFING:

BR 03082021 Draft 1

WASHINGTON METROPOLITAN AREA TRANSIT AUTHORITY FY 22 BUDGET AND SERVICE PROPOSAL

Thomas Graham, WMATA Board Member Paul Wiedefeld, WMATA, General Manager & CEO Charlie Scott, WMATA, Senior Government Relations Officer, Maryland

Floyd E, Holt, DCAO for Government Infrastructure & Technology Terry Bellamy, DPW&T, Director Martin Harris, DPW&T, Deputy Director Anthony Foster, DPW&T, Chief of Transit Planning

Attachment(s): WMATA FY22 Budget PPT

Paul Wiedefeld, General Manager and CEO of WMATA provided opening and introductory remarks and facilitated a PowerPoint Presentation titled "Briefing on WMATA FY 22 Budget" focusing on New Relief Act funds applied in 2021; Operating Budget Review and Recommendation; Enhanced Public Outreach; Capital Program Updates including Regional and Federal Investment; Platform Improvement Program; Station Closures 2021; New Maryland Headquarters and Covid-19 Update. Mr. Wiedefeld responded to questions posed by Council Members regarding potential closures, College Park Metro, New Carrollton Station; making the County competitive, bus service, covered bus stop in District 1, connectivity to National Landing and throughout the County, Addison Road Station schedule; fares and WMATA's position on SCMAGLEV. Council Member Todd M. Turner provided closing remarks.

ADJOURN

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 12:36 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Ivey, seconded by Council Member Turner, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by:

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council