

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8 Derrick Leon Davis, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3 Sydney J. Harrison, District 3 Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2 Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, April 26, 2021

5:00 PM

(VIRTUAL MEETING)

5:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was reconvened by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II at 5:01 p.m.with ten members present.Council Member Franklin arrived at 5:06 p.m.**Present:**11 -Chair Calvin S. HawkinsCouncil Member Monique Anderson-Walker
Council Member Derrick Davis
Council Member Thomas Dernoga
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Dannielle Glaros
Council Member Jolene Ivey
Council Member Rodney Streeter
Council Member Deni Taveras
Council Member Todd Turner

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050 William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant Leonard D. Moses, Zoning Assistant Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney Dave Van Dyke, A&I Turkessa Green, A&I Karen T. Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel Josh Hamlin, A&I James Walker-Bey, Zoning Reference Aide

<u>1. PUBLIC HEARING:</u>

PH 04262021 Draft 1 PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2022 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2022 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s):Office of Management & Budget SiteCounty Council Budget PortalChairman Speech Constant Yield FY2022 with chart

HEARING PROCEDURES:

A time limit of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. A tone will sound indicating that no time remains. Your cooperation in immediately concluding your remarks will be very much appreciated. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony using the Council's eComments portal at pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: ClerkoftheCouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Testimony and comments will not be accepted via social media, by telephone/voicemail message or U.S. mail. Comments must be received by 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 5, 2021.

HEARING AGENDA

(a) Introductory Remarks by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II

(b) Introduction of Council Members

(c) Comments by Elected Officials - none

- (d) Comments by interested Citizens
- 1. Mark Huffman
- 2. Yuri Borovsky
- 3. Catalina Sol
- 4. Lisa Smith
- 5. Kenneth Cohen
- 6. Danielle Middlebrooks
- 7. Heather Iliff
- 8. Mark Noblett
- 9. Marisa Parrella
- 10. Ana Rosas
- 11. Theresa Dudley (unable to attend)
- 12. Albert Barnes (unable to attend)
- 13. Tony Marshall
- 14. Mildred Williams
- 15. Brooke Kidd
- 16. Timothy Jansen
- 17. Amy Pergosky
- 18. Robert Malone
- 19. Joseph Fisher
- 20. Melanie Diggs
- 21. Catrina Aquilino
- 22. Meagan Baco
- 23. Damon Austin
- 24. Monique Powell-Davis
- 25. Brent Swinton

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 5:02 p.m. Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council read, for the record, a statement regarding the proposed Prince Georges County Fiscal Year 2022 Constant Yield Tax Rate. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. The public hearing concluded at 6:39 p.m.

This public hearing was held.

ADJOURN

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 6:40 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Streeter, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by:

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council