# COUNTY COUNCIL OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND 2021 Legislative Session

Resolution No.	CR-66-2021
Proposed by	The Chair (by request – County Executive)
Introduced by	Council Members Hawkins, Turner, Streeter, Glaros, Harrison, Davis,
	Franklin and Taveras
Date of Introdu	ction June 8, 2021

### RESOLUTION

## A RESOLUTION concerning

#### Public Safety Surcharge

For the purpose of adjusting the public safety surcharge for Fiscal Year 2022, beginning July 1, 2021, as required by State law.

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 10-192.11(a) of the Prince George's County Code the County Council, by ordinance, may impose a public safety surcharge on new residential construction for which a Preliminary Plan has been approved on or after July 1, 2005; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 10-192.11(b)(1)(A) and Section 10-192.11(b)(1)(B) of the Prince George's County Code, for Fiscal Year 2006, a public safety surcharge imposed on a single-family detached dwelling, townhouse, or dwelling unit for any other building containing more than a single dwelling unit shall be in the amount of \$6,000; except the amount shall be \$2,000 if the construction is located in the Developed Tier, as defined by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission in the Prince George's County Approved General Plan; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Chapter 351 of the 2019 Laws of Maryland, the Transportation Service Area 1 shall be defined by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission in the Prince George's County Approved General Plan, and the public safety surcharge imposed on construction located in the Transportation Service Area 1 shall be imposed on construction located in an area included in a certain basic or conceptual site plan; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 4-352 of the Prince George's County Code for Fiscal Year 2007 and each succeeding fiscal year, the public safety surcharge established in Section 4-352(o) shall be adjusted for inflation in accordance with the Consumer Price Index for All Urban

CR-66-2021 (DR-1)

Consumers published by the United States Department of Labor, for the fiscal year preceding the
year for which the amount is being calculated; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 4-352 of the Prince George's County Code, beginning in Fiscal Year 2007, the County Council, by resolution, shall adjust the surcharge each year by the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers published by the United States Department of Labor from the previous fiscal year; and

WHEREAS, the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers from April 2020 to April 2021, the most recent published data for the preceding fiscal year, is 4.2%, and results in an increase of \$111 above the Fiscal Year 2021 public safety surcharge of \$2,638 for permits issued inside the Developed Tier and inside an area included in a certain basic or conceptual site plan, and an increase of \$332 above the Fiscal Year 2021 public safety surcharge of \$7,909 for permits issued for all other buildings.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Prince George's County, Maryland, that for Fiscal Year 2022, the public safety surcharge shall be \$2,749 for permits issued for construction located inside the Transportation Service Area 1, as defined by the Maryland – National Capital Park and Planning Commission in the Prince George's County Approved General Plan and for construction in an area included in a basic plan or conceptual site plan that abuts an existing or planned mass transit rail station site operated by the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority and Maryland Transit Administration that complies with the requirements of any sector plan, master plan or overlay zone approved by the Prince George's County District Council. The public safety surcharge shall be \$8,241 for all other buildings, be and the same is hereby approved, and shall be retroactively effective July 1, 2021. Adopted this <u>6th</u> day of <u>July</u>, 2021.

# COUNTY COUNCIL OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND

BY: <u>Calvin S. Hawkins, II</u> Chair

ATTEST:

Donna J. Brown Clerk of the Council