## PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL

## **COMMITTEE REPORT**

2021 Legislative Session

**Reference No.:** CB-046-2021

**Draft No.:** 2

**Committee:** Committee of the Whole

**Date:** 9/16/2021

**Action:** FAV(A)

## **REPORT:**

Committee Vote: Favorable as Amended, 9-0 (In favor: Council Members Hawkins, Taveras, Anderson-Walker, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey and Turner)

The Committee convened on September 16, 2021 to discuss this legislation, which provides the following changes in the current Stormwater Management Retrofit Program:

- It allows a resident of a municipality to partially utilize the County's tree planting rebate program if that municipality caps their rebates at an amount less than the County's cap. The total rebate received through both programs cannot exceed the County's cap, to avoid a resident receiving a full rebate from both programs.
- It raises the lifetime maximum rebate on a residential property from \$4,000 to \$6,000. The maximum rebate for all other properties remains at \$20,000 per property.
- It establishes "conservation landscaping" as a rebate option, at \$5/square foot, with a minimum project size of 250 square feet. This includes residential as well as all other types of properties.

The legislation was held in Committee on July 6, 2021 to allow discussions with the County's Department of the Environment (DOE). These discussions resulted in the proposed Draft 2 of CB-46, which was presented by Legislative Officer Kathleen Canning. During the discussion of Draft 2, additional amendments were approved to remove outdated references related to the County's General Plan, and to add language specifying that the six communities targeted for intensified public outreach, education, and demonstrations of the program prioritize regions of the county with significant impervious surface coverage.

The following individuals spoke in favor of the legislation: DOE Director Andrea Crooms, Associate Director Dawn Hawkins-Nixon, Janet Gingold of the Sierra Club, Berwyn Heights Mayor Amanda Dewey, College Park Mayor Patrick Wojahn and Landover Hills Mayor Jeff Schomisch.

After the discussion, the Committee voted unanimously in favor of CB-46-2021 as amended.