The Honorable Angela Alsobrooks Prince George's County Executive Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Drive – Suite 400 Largo, MD 20774

Dear County Executive Alsobrooks:

The Prince George's County Council met as the Committee of the Whole on October 21, 2021 and received a briefing regarding the Fiscal Year 2022 Master Plan (Plan) from the Telecommunications Transmission Facilities Coordinating Committee (TTFCC).

The County Council supports the Fiscal Year 2022 Plan; however, early in the next legislative year we would suggest continued discussion. The plan includes a concentration of the small cell proposed locations within <u>Councilmanic Districts Two and Three</u>. While the Council expected that this area would receive significant interest it is also important to recognize the underserved areas in other parts of the County. This disparity poses a potential for the appearance of less than equitable service to certain parts of the County. We believe further discussion and action is necessary to ensure that as small cell technology begins to grow quickly that the coverage is equitable and incentivized, when necessary, to encourage the type of growth the community expects and that we are all committed to delivering.

Broadband access was discussed during this meeting and the potential to encourage improved access in underserved areas is critical. According to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), at least 25 million people do not have broadband. We feel further discussion with the Council by the Office of Information Technology (OIT) and the TTFCC is merited to ensure that we are planning to prevent a Digital Divide in Prince George's County while continuing to lead economic growth in the State of Maryland.

Thank you, for the opportunity to comment about the TTFCC Master Plan. We look forward to continued engagement with you. Please contact Mr. Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator and copy Nathaniel Tutt, if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Calvin S. Hawkins II Chair

CC: County Council Members
Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator