

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee

Eric C. Olson, Chair Thomas E. Dernoga, Vice Chair Ingrid S. Watson Calvin S. Hawkins, II Jolene Ivey

Director - J. Kenneth Battle, Jr. Administrative Aide - Shirley Anglin (301) 952-3694

Thursday, January 26, 2023

10:00 AM

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 5 - Chair Eric Olson, Vice Chair Thomas Dernoga, Council

Member Calvin S. Hawkins, Council Member Jolene

Ivey and Council Member Ingrid Watson

Other Council Members Present Council Member Wala Blegay

BRIEFINGS

BR 01262023A WMATA METRO BUS NETWORK REDESIGN

Attachment(s): WMATA Metro Bus Network Redesign

Presentation

This Briefing was held.

BR 01262023B DPWT UPDATE: THE BUS, VISION ZERO, & ROAD MAINTENANCE

Attachment(s): DPWT Update The Bus, Vision Zero, Road

Maintenace Presentation

This Briefing was held.

LEGISLATION

CR-008-2023

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING SOLAR TASK FORCE for the purpose of declaring the intent of the Prince George's County Council to establish a Solar Task Force to be responsible for leading the development of new solar PV programs and incentives, communicating the availability of these resources to Prince George's County's residents and commercial building owners, and engaging the community on the benefits of solar PV particularly, the financial aspects of solar PV; appointing members of the Solar Task Force; and generally regarding the establishment of the Solar Task Force.

Attachment(s): R2023008

CR-008-2023 AIS

A motion was made by Council Member Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Resolution be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Olson, Hawkins, Ivey and Watson

Nay: 1 - Dernoga

CB-019-2023

AN ACT CONCERNING RESILIENCE HUBS for the purpose of providing a certain definition; providing for high priority locations for resilience hubs; providing for the identification of partner organizations; providing for certain requests for proposals; providing for community engagement; providing for certain streamlining of permitting and code compliance; providing for resilience hub innovation and entrepreneurship; providing for certain funding strategies; providing for certain incentives; and generally regarding resilience hubs.

Attachment(s): B2023019

CB-019-2023 AIS

A motion was made by Council Member Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Council Bill be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Olson, Hawkins, Ivey and Watson

Nay: 1 - Dernoga

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Council Member Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Watson, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by

Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee

an unanimous vote.

Others Present:

Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director

Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison

Ellis Watson, Legislative Officer

Edwin H. Brown, Jr. Administrative Assistant

Communications Staff

Michael Royer, Multimedia Specialist (TV)

Langley Wiggins, Multimedia Specialist

Aminah Bushrod, Communication Specialist

Leonard Moses, Legislative Assistant (LM)

Peter Cafiero, Managing Director, Intermodal Planning, WMATA

Allison Davis, Vice President, Planning, WMATA

Leroy Jones, Vice President, Business Operations, WMATA

Charlie Scott, Senior Government Relations Officer, WMATA

David Proctor, Communications Specialist, WMATA

Michael Johnson, Director, DPWT

Oluseyi Olugbenle, Deputy Director, DPWT

Efon Epanty, Chief, Transit Planning, DPWT