

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee

Krystal Oriadha, Chair Wala Blegay, Vice Chair Edward P. Burroughs Thomas E. Dernoga Mel Franklin

Director - Nathaniel K. Tutt, III Administrative Aide - Lochelle Ferguson (301) 952-4195

Thursday, February 2, 2023

1:30 PM

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 4 - Chair Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair Wala Blegay, Council

Member Edward Burroughs and Council Member

Thomas Dernoga

Absent: 1 - Council Member Mel Franklin

Other Council Members Present Jolene Ivey, Council Member, District 5

LEGISLATION

<u>CB-008-2023</u> <u>AN ACT CONCERNING PRIVATE SECURITY CAMERA INCENTIVE</u>

PROGRAM for the purpose of establishing a Private Security Camera Incentive Program that would encourage businesses and homeowners to set up cameras to increase security surveillance. Nationally, crime and illegal dumping is on the rise and establishing more surveillance would assist public safety in keeping our communities safe and clean.

Sponsor(s): Oriadha, Ivey and Burroughs

Attachment(s): B2023008

CB-008-2023 AIS CB-008-2023 DR 2

CB-008-2023 OOL Comments CB-008-2023 PAFI Statement

A motion was made by Council Member Burroughs, seconded by Vice Chair Blegay, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave: 4 - Oriadha, Blegay, Burroughs and Dernoga

Absent: 1 - Franklin

BRIEFINGS

BR 01192023 WINTER WEATHER OHS, DSS, AND DFS PRESENTATION

Attachment(s): OHS Overview 02012023 FINAL

This Briefing was held

BR 01192023c BUDGET AND POLICY ANALYSIS COMMITTEE AGENCIES

This Briefing was postponed until another date

BR 02022023a PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY OFFICE OF THE SHERIFF, DOMESTIC

VIOLENCE

Attachment(s): DVID Sheriff Presentation

This Briefing was held

ADJOURN

Others Present

Anya Makarova, Senior Policy and Budget Analyst, CCL

Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer, CCL

Lochelle Ferguson, Committee Aide, CCL

Terry Bell, Council Liaison, OCEX

Kassandra Fields, Budget and Policy Analyst, CCL

Shirley Anglin, Committee, Aide, CCL

Sharon Williams, Administrative Aide, CCL

Robin Barnes-Shell, Associate County Attorney, OOL

Major Zachary O'Lare, PGPD

Ronald Gill, Director, OHS

Meloyde Batten-Mickens, Deputy Director Emergency Management, OHS

Renee Ensor-Pope, Manager, DSS

Cathy Stansy, RDL, DFS

John D.B. Carr, Sheriff, SHF

Juanita Agnew