

# **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee

Eric C. Olson, Chair Thomas E. Dernoga, Vice Chair Ingrid S. Watson Calvin S. Hawkins, II Jolene Ivey

Director - J. Kenneth Battle, Jr. Administrative Aide - Shirley Anglin (301) 952-3694

Thursday, March 23, 2023

10:00 AM

**Council Hearing Room** 

## VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

# **ORDER OF PROCEEDING**

# **CALL TO ORDER**

**Present:** 5 - Chair Eric Olson, Vice Chair Thomas Dernoga, Council

Member Calvin S. Hawkins, Council Member Jolene

Ivey and Council Member Ingrid Watson

#### **BUDGET WORKSESSION**

BU 2023-2 WASHINGTON SUBURBAN SANITARY COMMISSION

**BUDGET OVERVIEW** 

**Attachment(s)**: WSSC FY24 Proposed Budget

Budget discussion held; no votes taken

# **LEGISLATION**

CB-032-2023 AN ACT CONCERNING BETTER BAG BILL for the purpose of providing

for legislative intent; defining certain terms; prohibiting, after a certain date, a retail establishment from distributing certain plastic carryout bags to a customer at the point of sale; establishing a minimum charge for certain paper and reusable

carryout bags provided by a retail establishment; providing for a certain

# Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment **Committee**

exception; providing for a certain prohibition on certain advertising; providing for a certain promotion; providing for certain information on a certain receipt; providing that certain signage may be posted regarding certain charges for paper and reusable carryout bags; providing for education and outreach; establishing a certain maximum civil penalty for a violation of this Division; establishing that the distribution of a certain number of plastic carryout bags at a single point of sale constitutes a single violation; prohibiting the imposition of a penalty under this Division unless certain conditions are met; providing for the enforcement of this Division; providing for a certain waiver; providing for a certain report; providing for certain citations; permitting the Department of the Environment to adopt certain regulations; providing for the applicability of this Division; and generally relating to one-time use plastic carryout bags.

Attachment(s): B2023032

> CB-032-2023 Summary CB-032-2023 PAFI

CB-032-2023 Amendment Sheet #2

CB-032-2023 FWA MRA CB-032-2023 Ecomments OOL Comments CB-032-2023

A motion was made by Vice Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Ivey, that this Council Bill be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

> 5 - Olson, Dernoga, Hawkins, Ivey and Watson Ave:

### CR-009-2023

## A RESOLUTION CONCERNING WATERSHED PROTECTION AND

**RESTORATION** for the purpose of Prince George's County's Watershed Protection and Restoration Financial Assurance Plan (FAP) for approving the Prince George's County Financial Assurance as required by State law.

Attachment(s): R2023009

> CR-009-2023 Exhibit A CR-009-2023 Exhibit A-1 CR-009-2023 Exhibit B CR-009-2023 Summary CR-009-2023 Transmittal

CR-009-2023 PAFI

OOL Comments CR-009-2023

A motion was made by Vice Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

# Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee

Aye: 5 - Olson, Dernoga, Hawkins, Ivey and Watson

BR 3232023 2022 Financial Assurance Plan

**Attachment(s):** DoE 2022 FAP Presentation

**Briefing held** 

# **ADJOURN**

A motion was made by Vice Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

#### **Others Present:**

**Kenneth Batte, TIEE Committee Director** 

Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer

Ashley Sharp, CEX

Amanda Denison, Legislative Officer

Edwin Brown, Administrative Assistant

Karen Campbell, Communications

Michael Royer, Multimedia Specialist

Langley Wiggins, Multimedia Specialist

Aminah Bushrod, Communication Specialist

**Lawand Harris** 

**Ashley Woodard** 

Leonard Moses, Legislative Assistant

James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant

Kishia Powell, General Manager/CEO, WSSC

Joseph Beach, Deputy General Manager/CEO, WSSC

James Price, Deputy General Manager of Operations, WSSC

Letitia Carolina-Powell, Budget Division Manager, WSSC

**Guy Andes, WSSC** 

Regina Speed-Bost, Vice Chair, WSSC Commissioner

Jeffrey DeHan, Associate Director, DoE

Jerry Maldonado, DoE

Dawn Hawkins-Dixon, Associate Director, DoE

Janet Gingold

**Martha Ainsworth** 

**Brendan Mahoney** 

**Michael Williams** 

**Andrew Nord** 

**Kathy Bartolo**