

## **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee

Ingrid S. Watson, Chair Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair Thomas E. Dernoga Mel Franklin Krystal Oriadha

Staff Support:
Nathaniel Tutt – Committee Director
Leroy Maddox, Jr. – Legislative Attorney
Nikia McBride – Administrative Aide

Thursday, March 14, 2024

1:30 PM

**Committee Room 2027** 

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

## **ORDER OF PROCEEDING**

### **CALL TO ORDER**

**Present:** 5 - Chair Ingrid Watson, Vice Chair Sydney Harrison, Council Member Thomas Dernoga, Council Member Mel Franklin and Council Member Krystal Oriadha

#### **LEGISLATION**

CB-001-2024

AN ACT CONCERNING BLACK BUSINESS START UP FUNDS for the purpose of adding African American Business Enterprises to the Prince George's County Business Expansion and Start-Up Grant Program; adding African American Business Enterprises to the Prince George's County Business Expansion and Start-Up Loan program; providing for African American Business Enterprises definition and specified definitions section; and other related provisions.

**Sponsor(s):** Oriadha

A motion was made by Council Member Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Franklin, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Watson, Harrison, Dernoga, Franklin and Oriadha

CB-003-2024

AN ACT CONCERNING MANDATORY LACTATION ROOMS IN COUNTY BUILDINGS AND OR REAL PROPERTY for the purpose of requiring lactation rooms in certain County buildings and or real property.

**Sponsor(s)**: Oriadha

A motion was made by Council Member Oriadha, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that this Council Bill be FAVORABLE. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Watson, Harrison, Dernoga, Franklin and Oriadha

CB-004-2024

**AN ACT CONCERNING PARENTAL LEAVE ELIGIBILITY** for the purpose of revising the time that County employees are eligible to receive parental leave.

**Sponsor(s):** Oriadha

A motion was made by Council Member Oriadha, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Watson, Harrison, Dernoga, Franklin and Oriadha

#### CR-013-2024

<u>A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE 911 CHARGE</u> for the purpose of approving a one cent increase in the additional charge for switched local exchange access service, commercial mobile radio service, and other 911 accessible service within the County.

**Sponsor(s):** Ivey, Harrison, Watson and Fisher

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Chair Watson, that this Resolution be FAVORABLE. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Watson, Harrison, Dernoga and Franklin

Abstain: 1 - Oriadha

#### CB-007-2024

## AN ACT CONCERNING THE REVISED ELDERLY PROPERTY TAX

<u>CREDIT</u> for the purpose of revising the current elderly property tax credit to make its applicability exclusive of and separate and distinct from the Homestead and Maryland Homeowner's Property Tax Credit.

**Sponsor(s):** Burroughs, Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Blegay, Oriadha, Franklin and Hawkins

A motion was made by Council Member Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Franklin, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave: 5 - Watson, Harrison, Dernoga, Franklin and Oriadha

#### **APPOINTMENTS**

A motion was made by Council Member Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Dernoga, that this be FAVORABLE. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Watson, Harrison, Dernoga, Franklin and Oriadha

#### <u>APPT-6-24</u>

Appointment of the following individual to the Fair Election Fund Commission for Prince George's County:

Ms. Cecelia D. Toulson

Appointment Citizen Member

Term Expiration: 5/1/2027

#### **ADJOURN**

#### Adjourned

A motion was made by Chair Watson that this be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Watson, Harrison, Dernoga, Franklin and Oriadha

### **Others Present:**

(CB-007-2024)

Jeff Schomisch - Mayor, Landover Hills

Mark Dupree

R. Wilson

Adrienne Crowell - VP, Surratts Guard Comm Association

**Sister Joy Alford - Poet Laureate** 

Catherine Williamson - President, AARP #939

**Phillipa Johnston** 

Rolda Morgan - BCCA

Sandra Hall - TSAGA

**Doris Jones** 

Patricia Monroe - Southlawn Citizens Association

Brenda Mendoza

John M. Walker

**Sharon Simms - BCCA** 

**Daisy Maggett - President, Central Civic Association** 

**Margaret White** 

Cynthia Bowie
Margo Nelson - CECA, Rt 19,3
Betty Woods
Gloria Lawlah - Civic Association
Betty Woods
Robert Samuels

(CB-001-2024)
Bruce Branch
Joe Gaskins - PG Contractors Association
Wayne Shorter
Eric Hawkins