

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Derrick Leon Davis, District 6, Chairman
Mel Franklin, District 9

Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3, Vice Chairwoman
Andrea C. Harrison, District 5

Mary A. Lehman, District 1

Obie Patterson, District 8

Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Karen R. Toles, District 7

Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, June 13, 2016

1:30 PM

Council Hearing Room

1:30 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order at 1:53 p.m. with nine members present at roll call.

Present:

9 - Chairman Derrick Davis

Council Member Mel Franklin

Vice Chair Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Andrea Harrison

Council Member Mary Lehman

Council Member Obie Patterson

Council Member Deni Taveras

Council Member Karen Toles

Council Member Todd Turner

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer

Hawi Sanu, Director, THE Committee

Ken Williams, Council Administration

BRIEFING – (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

BR 06132016

Draft 1

BRIEFING ON TRANSPORTATION ISSUES AND WASHINGTON METROPOLITAN AREA TRANSIT AUTHORITY

(SEE SEPARATE AGENDA)

Attachment(s): WMATA Briefing Agenda 06132016

WMATA Presentation June 14 2016
COG Presentation June 14 2016
DPW&T Presentation June 14, 2016

Panel Guests:

Jack Evans, Chair, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Board of Directors

Malcolm Augustine, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Board of Directors

Paul J. Wiedefeld, General Manager, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

Chuck Bean, Executive Director, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments

Darryl Mobley, Director, Prince George's County Department of Public Works and Transportation

Chairman Davis thanked the panel guests for their participation and spoke briefly to the history of this topic and the vision moving forward. He acknowledged several Elected Officials in the audience. Mr. Evans, provided opening remarks and spoke to budget concerns for the agency. Mr. Augustine facilitated a PowerPoint presentation on the Joint Development Update. Mr.

Wiedefeld spoke to his efforts thus far in his first six months in the position and spoke to rail service issues, safety, bus services, management, ridership, market change, crime and potential terrorism. He indicated that there is now a Customer Accountability Report online to keep the public informed. Mr. Wiedefeld facilitated a PowerPoint presentation on transportation issues. Darryl Mobley provided an overview of the WMATA Safe Track Action Plan and the County's Action Plan. The Chair opened the floor for those elected officials present to ask questions of the panel guests. Ms. Gaines, Mr. Jackson, Mr. Knotts and Mr. Barron participated. The panel guest responded to questions posed by the Council regarding: WMATA real estate ventures, safety, parking expenses and availability, bus routes, ridership decline, infill stations, regional approach, pension liabilities and alternative revenue sources. Mr. Coleman of the Economic Development Corporation and Mr. Harrington of the Chamber of Commerce provided comment on behalf of their respective entities. Chairman Davis thanked the panelists and indicated that additional meetings would be held to continue the discussion as the additional surges are implemented.

Elected/Appointed Officials present:

The Honorable Tawanna P. Gaines, Delegate, 22nd Legislative District
The Honorable Erek L. Barron, Delegate, 24th Legislative District
The Honorable Angela Angel, Delegate, 25th Legislative District
The Honorable Tony Knotts, Delegate, 26th Legislative District
The Honorable Elizabeth (Susie) Proctor, Delegate 27th Legislative District
The Honorable Michael Jackson, Delegate 27th Legislative District
Nicholas A. Majett, Chief Administrative Officer
Barry L. Stanton, Deputy CAO for Public Infrastructure
James Coleman, President and CEO, Economic Development Corporation
David C. Harrington, President, Prince George's Chamber of Commerce
Kirk Wineland, Former Council Chairman

This Briefing was held

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 4:06 p.m.

| Prepared by: |
|---|
| |
| Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council |
| Submitted by: |
| Submitted by. |
| Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council |