

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Derrick Leon Davis, District 6, Chairman
Mel Franklin, District 9

Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3, Vice Chairwoman
Andrea C. Harrison, District 5

Mary A. Lehman, District 1

Obie Patterson, District 8

Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Karen R. Toles, District 7

Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

11:00 AM

Council Hearing Room

11:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order at 11:30 a.m. with eight members present at roll call. Council Member Harrison arrived at 11:31 a.m.

Present:

9 - Chairman Derrick Davis

Vice Chair Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Mel Franklin

Council Member Andrea Harrison

Council Member Mary Lehman

Council Member Obie Patterson

Council Member Deni Taveras

Council Member Karen Toles

Council Member Todd Turner

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator
Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council
Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council
Nathaniel Tutt, III, County Executive's Office
Lakeecia Allen, Office of Law
Dinora Hernandez, Office of Law
Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer
Karen Zavakos, Legislative Officer

INVOCATION:

Council Member Toles requested prayer for Davion Percy, Legislative Branch employee, in the loss of his child and the illness of his wife. Council Member Taveras requested prayer for Laverne Williams who is in hospice care. Council Member Glaros requested prayer for the families of various prominent persons who have passed this year. Council Member Franklin requested prayer for Rita Henry, Legislative Branch employee, who is recovering well.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Turner.

POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

Vice-Chair Glaros recognized Susan Hubbard of the Department of Permits, Inspection and Enforcement who will retire at the end of the year. Council Members Harrison, Toles, Lehman, Turner and Davis offered congratulatory remarks.

BUSINESS MEETING

1. ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2017 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

CHAIR4

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 6, 2016 TO DECEMBER 4, 2017.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that Derrick Leon Davis be elected as Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

VICE4

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL VICE CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 6, 2016 TO DECEMBER 4, 2017.

A motion was made by Council Member Lehman, seconded by Chairman Davis, that Dannielle M. Glaros be elected as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

2. EXCHANGE OF GAVEL

3. REMARKS BY INCOMING CHAIR

Chairman Davis thanked his colleagues for the opportunity to serve a second term as Chair of the Council. He also thanked his family and staff for their support and outlined issues that will be of importance in the coming year to include the voter approved At-Large Council seats, Council Rules of Procedure, recording of Standing Committee meetings, restructuring the Standing Committees and establishment of a County Vehicle Use Review Board. Chairman Davis lead the audience in a moment of silence in memory of Ken Williams, Legislative Branch Employee, who passed away this year

and thanked each "team" of the Legislative Branch, M-NCPPC and Office of the County Executive for their efforts during the 2016 Legislative Year.

RECESS

The meeting went into recess at 11:52 a.m. and reconvened at 11:56 a.m.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Franklin, to accept the additions package. The motion carried unanimously.

4. INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF RESOLUTIONS

CR-001-2017

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING COUNTY VEHICLE USE REVIEW

BOARD for the purpose of establishing a County Vehicle Use Review Board for members of the County Council to supplement current personal take home vehicle procedures of Prince George's County.

Sponsor(s): Davis, Lehman, Turner, Glaros, Franklin, Taveras, Patterson and

Attachment(s): R2016001

Council Resolution 1 creates a County Vehicle Use Review Board for purposes of a comprehensive review of County vehicle procedures for Take Home County vehicles assigned to members of the County Council.

This Resolution was introduced by Council Members Davis, Franklin, Glaros, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Franklin, that the Council Rules of Procedure be suspended to allow for the immediate adoption of this Resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Turner, that this Resolution be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

CR-002-2017 Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING BIAS, DISCRIMINATION, HATE AND

HARASSMENT for the purpose of denouncing Anti-Immigrant Activity, Racial Bias and Discrimination, Hate Speech, Hate Crimes, and Harassment in Prince George's County.

Sponsor(s): Taveras, Davis, Glaros, Turner, Lehman and Franklin

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>CR-002-2017</u>

CR-2-2017 AIS

Council Resolution 2 denounces anti-immigrant activity, racial bias and discrimination, hate speech, hate crimes and harassment in Prince George's County.

This Resolution was introduced by Council Members Taveras, Davis, Glaors Turner, Lehman and Franklin

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Lehman, that the Council Rules of Procedure be suspended to allow for the immediate adoption of this Resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Franklin, that this Resolution be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

There were no requests.

POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

Council Member Toles announced that Chairman Davis will serve as Vice-Chair of the Council of Governments and she will serve as Vice-Chair of the Corporate Board; noting that it is unprecedented to have two members of the Board from Prince George's County.

ADJ	O	UR	N
------------	---	----	---

The meeting was adjourned at 12:25 p.m.

Prepared by:

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Submitted by:

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council