

## **Prince George's County Council**

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Committee of the Whole

Chairman Derrick Leon Davis
Vice Chairwoman Dannielle M. Glaros
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Andrea C. Harrison
Council Member Mary A. Lehman
Council Member Obie Patterson
Council Member Deni L. Taveras
Council Member Karen R. Toles
Council Member Todd Turner

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

10:00 AM

**Committee Hearing Room 2027** 

#### **ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:**

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The Committee of the Whole was convened by Chairman Davis at 10:20 a.m. with eight members present.

**Present** 8 - Derrick Davis

Dannielle Glaros

Mel Franklin

Andrea Harrison

Mary Lehman

Obie Patterson

Deni Taveras

Todd Turner

**Absent** 1 - Karen Toles

Also present:

William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council Nathaniel Tutt, III, County Executive's Office Lakeecia Allen, Office of Law Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer

#### CB-013-2017

<u>AN ACT CONCERNING THE BOARD OF HEALTH</u> for the purpose of clarifying and augmenting the duties and responsibilities of the County Council, sitting as the Board of Health, and generally relating to the Board of Health.

**Sponsor(s):** Franklin, Turner, Davis, Glaros and Taveras

Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer, provided an overview of the legislation and spoke to revisions embodied in the proposed draft two of the Bill. Nathaniel Tutt, III, indicated the County Executive's support for the new version. Council Members Franklin and Davis spoke to efforts to work with the County Executive on this matter.

A motion was made by Council Member Franklin, seconded by Council Member Turner, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson,

Taveras and Turner

**Absent:** 1 - Toles

### **ADJOURN**

The meeting was adjourned at 10:25 a.m.