

Prince George's County Council

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Committee of the Whole

Chairman Derrick Leon Davis
Vice Chairwoman Dannielle M. Glaros
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Andrea C. Harrison
Council Member Mary A. Lehman
Council Member Obie Patterson
Council Member Deni L. Taveras
Council Member Karen R. Toles
Council Member Todd Turner

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

12:15 PM

Council Hearing Room

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole meeting was convened by Chairman Davis at 12:37 p.m. with nine members present.

Present 9 - Derrick Davis

Dannielle Glaros

Mel Franklin

Andrea Harrison

Mary Lehman

Obie Patterson

Deni Taveras

Karen Toles

Todd Turner

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Nathaniel Tutt, III, County Executive's Office

Dinora Hernandez, Office of Law

Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer

Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer

Howard Stone, Director, PSFM Committee

Hawi Sanu, Director, THE Committee

CR-021-2017

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS GENERAL SCHEDULE EMPLOYEES - SALARY SCHEDULE G for the

purpose of amending the Salary Plan of the County to reflect pay rates and other modified benefits for General Schedule Employees.

Sponsor(s): Toles, Lehman, Harrison, Turner, Davis, Glaros, Taveras and Patterson

Howard Stone, Director of the Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee (PSFM), provided an overview of the legislation. Joseph Adler, Labor Relations representative, William Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator and Robert Williams, Jr., Council Administrator, responded to questions posed by the Council.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>R2017021</u>

<u>CR-21-2017 AIS.pdf</u> CR-21-2017 Report

CR-21-2017 Fiscal Impact

CR-022-2017

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE STATE OF MARYLAND SUSTAINABLE COMMUNITIES PROGRAM FOR GREATER

<u>CHILLUM</u> for the purpose of approving Greater Chillum as a Sustainable Community through the Application and Proposed Plan for submission to the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development ("Department") for participation in the Department's Sustainable Communities Program.

Sponsor(s): Taveras, Davis, Glaros, Lehman, Toles, Turner and Patterson Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer, provided an overview of the legislation. Daniel Sams, M-NCPPC, spoke briefly to the application and responded to questions posed by the Council.

A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Vice Chair Glaros, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

Attachment(s): R2017022

CR-22-2017 Attachment A CR-22-2017 Attachment B CR-22-2017 AIS.pdf

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 1:20 p.m.