

# **Prince George's County Council**

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Derrick Leon Davis, District 6, Chairman Mel Franklin, District 9 Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3, Vice Chairwoman Andrea C. Harrison, District 5 Mary A. Lehman, District 1 Obie Patterson, District 1 Deni L. Taveras, District 2 Karen R. Toles, District 7 Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

7:00 PM

**Council Hearing Room** 

## 7:00 P.M. - RECONVENE (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

*The Council Session was reconvened by Chairman Davis at* 7:08 p.m. *with eight members present.* 

<b>Present:</b>	8 -	Chairman Derrick Davis
		Vice Chair Dannielle Glaros
		Council Member Mel Franklin
		Council Member Andrea Harrison
		Council Member Obie Patterson
		Council Member Deni Taveras
		Council Member Karen Toles
		Council Member Todd Turner
Absent:		Council Member Mary Lehman

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council David Van Dyke, County Auditor Karen Zavakos, Legislative Officer Howard Stone, Director, PSFM Committee

#### **PUBLIC HEARINGS: -(COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)**

<u>PH 05022017</u>

Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2018 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2018 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY, REVENUE AUTHORITY AND INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s):Chairman's Speech FY18 CYTRCharman's Speech FY18 Multiyear Contracts

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing was convened at 7:08 p.m. Chairman Davis read, for the record, statements regarding the proposed Prince Georges County Fiscal Year 2018 Constant Yield Tax Rate and Proposed Fiscal Year 2018 Multiyear Contracts. David Van Dyke, County Auditor, spoke regarding the Multi-year Contracts listing, indicated that the contracts where the vendor has yet to be determined should be stricken from the listing. The following persons provided verbal testimony (\* Indicates that written testimony was also submitted):

Elected Officials:

*The Honorable Jimmy Tarlau, Maryland State Delegate, Legislative District* 47A

Interested Citizens:

1. Delores Milhouse, Founder, Prince George's County Language Immersion Coalition \*

2. Sarah Cavitt, President, Riverbend Estates Neighborhood Association (RENA) \*

3. Leah Paley, Executive Director, Laurel Advocacy Referral Services \*

4. Arimathea Roberts, Supportive Housing Case Manager, Laurel Advocacy & Referral Services \*

5. Chanel Compton, Executive Director, Prince George's County African American Museum & Cultural Center

6. Anthony Nelson, Dean College of Business, Bowie State University

7. Marcellus Major, CEO, Avant Garde Engineering Technology

8. Sonya Hopson, President/CEO, Sage Services Group

9. Brooke Kidd, Executive Director, Joe's Movement Emporium

10.Mark Noblett, Individual \*

11.Leonel Solano, Student, Joe's Movement Emporium

12. Ellie Waldo, Student, Joe's Movement Emporium 13. Terrie Humphries, The Arc of Prince George's County 14. Ron Weiss, Individual \* 15.Sydney Daigle, Food Equity Council \* 16. Preston Mears, Individual 17. Theresa Mitchell Dudley, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA) \* 18. Maleke Glee, Executive Director, Chocolate Redux (unable to attend) 19.Nzingha Shaw, Teaching Artist, Prince George's County African American Museum & Cultural Center, Culture Keepers Program. 20.Kerry Lee Riley, Program Instructor, The Arc of Prince George's County 21. Daron Wimbish, Jr., Prince George's County African American Museum & Cultural Center, Culture Keepers Program (Suitland High School) 22. Michele Clark, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA) 23. Janice Stallworth, Member, Prince George's Provider Council \* 24. Michael McLaughlin, Individual 25. Shirley Kirkland, President, AFSCME Local 2250 26. Nick Hluckhyj, Arc of Prince George's County 27. Edwin Fung, Individual

All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held.

## This Public Hearing was held

# **ADJOURN**

The meeting was adjourned at 8:47 p.m.

Prepared by:

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Submitted by:

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council