

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Derrick Leon Davis, District 6, Chairman Mel Franklin, District 9 Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3, Vice Chairwoman Andrea C. Harrison, District 5 Mary A. Lehman, District 1 Obie Patterson, District 1 Deni L. Taveras, District 2 Karen R. Toles, District 7 Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, May 8, 2017

7:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

7:00 P.M. CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Davis at 7:04 p.m. with eight members present at roll call. Council Member Lehman was absent due to illness.

Present:	8 -	Chairman Derrick Davis
		Vice Chair Dannielle Glaros
		Council Member Mel Franklin
		Council Member Andrea Harrison
		Council Member Obie Patterson
		Council Member Deni Taveras
		Council Member Karen Toles
		Council Member Todd Turner
Absent:		Council Member Mary Lehman

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council David Van Dyke, County Auditor Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer Howard Stone, Director, PSFM Committee Theresa Myers, Office of the Clerk of the Council

PUBLIC HEARING: -(COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

<u>PH 05082017</u>

Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2018 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2018 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY, REVENUE AUTHORITY AND INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s):Chairman's Speech FY18 CYTR
Charman Speech FY18 Multiyear Contracts
FY18 Multiyear Contracts List

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing was convened at 7:04 p.m. Chairman Davis read, for the record, statements regarding the proposed Prince Georges County Fiscal Year 2017 Constant Yield Tax Rate and Proposed Fiscal Year 2017 Multiyear Contracts. The following Elected Officials provided verbal testimony (* Indicates that written testimony was also submitted):

The Honorable Thomas Wright, City of Hyattsville, Council Member Ward 3 *

The Honorable Patrick Paschall, City of Hyattsville, Council Member Ward 3 (Speaking as an Individual)

The Honorable Joanne Benson, Senator

*The Honorable Yvette Alexander, District of Columbia Council Member, Ward 6 **

The Honorable Joseph Solomon, Council Member, City of Hyattsville The Honorable Edouard Haba, Council Member, City of Hyattsville

The following Citizens provided verbal testimony (* Indicates that written testimony was also submitted):

1. Sarah Cavitt, President, Indian Head Highway Area Action Council (IHHAAC) *

2. Chanel Compton, Executive Director, Prince George's County African American Museum & Cultural Center *

- 3. Robin McNair, Individual *
- 4. Adeline Wilcox, Individual *

-
5. Preston Mears, Individual
6. Sydney Daigle, Individual
7. Theresa Mitchell Dudley, Prince George's County Educators' Association
(PGCEA)
8. Kalil Hunter, Student Artist, Culture Keepers
9. Jane Hirshberg, Campus & Community Engagement Manager, Clarice
Smith Performing Arts Center (unable to attend)
10. Erica L. Bondarev Repach, Associate Executive Director, Clarice Smith
Performing Arts Center (unable to attend)
11. Sasha Ernest, Maryland Regional Manager, Capital Area Food Bank
12. Jasmine Ramsay, Pennsylvania Ave. Seventh Day Adventist Church
(unable to attend)
13. Margaret Morgan-Hubbard, CEO, ECO City Farms *
14. Jeffrey Dee, Director of Development, Habitat for Humanity Metro
Maryland
15. Alyson Harkins, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association
(PGCEA)
16. Dr. Robert M. Ponichtera, Executive Director, Liberty's Promise *
17. Efuetngu (Efi) Asaha, Parkdale High School Student (Liberty's Promise)
18. Claudine Boussougon, Northwestern High School Student (Liberty's
Promise)
19. Saffiatu Sankoh, Bladensburg High School Student (Liberty's Promise)
20. Ematu Sesay, High Point High School Student (Liberty's Promise)
21. Mark A. Noblett, Individual
22. Kim Rush Lynch, Agricultural Specialist, University of Maryland *
23. Rommel Sandino, Individual
24. Varinia Morales, Individual (unable to attend)
25. Albert Barnes, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association
(PGCEA)
26. Julia Crusor, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association
(PGCEA) (unable to attend)
27. Arun Puracken, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association
(PGCEA)
28. Jennifer Lumpkin, Eco City Farms
29. Watani Hatcher, Eco City Farms *
30. Kevin Alsop, Eco City Farms
31. Iris Martinez, Community Member, CASA
32. Shee Newman, Individual (unable to attend)
33. Tanea Manning, Member, Food Equity Council
34. Angela Bowen, President & CEO, Community Services Foundation
35. Juan Stuart, Individual

36. Yvette Alexander, Board Member, Take Charge Juvenile Diversion Program, Inc. (spoke as an Elected Official) 37. Darrell Carrington, Board Chair, Take Charge Juvenile Diversion Program, Inc. * 38. Sushitra Balachandran, Director, Community Research 39. Jon Robinson, Individual 40. Woody Woodruff, Member Democratic Socialists of America 41. Kyle De Jan, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA) (unable to attend) 42. John Straub, Adelphi Hills Community Association (For Ann Stoddard, President) * 43. Veronique Kent, Basketball Team Manager, Take Charge Juvenile Diversion Program, Inc. * 44. Yvonne Baicich, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA) 45. Ray Ranker, Individual (unable to attend) * 46. Jennifer Linn, Individual 47.Shirley Kirkland, President, ACE-AFSCME Local 2250 48. Timothy Jansen, Executive Director, Community Crisis Services 49. Joseph Greer, Chief Steward of Maintenance Chapter, ACE-AFSCME Local 2250 * 50. Monica Meacham, Union Activist, ACE-AFSCME Local 2250 * 51. Amity Pope, Co-Lead Organizer, Progressive Maryland, PGC 52. Jennifer Freedman, Chief of Development & Finance, CASA 53. Roland Roy, Bus Driver, Local 2250 Member, Goddard Bus Lot 54. Rosalinda Vail Lucas, Community Member, CASA 55. Dr. Paul Butterworth, Individual 56. Lourdes Rodriguez, Individual 57. Eusebia Ramirez, Individual 58. Sallie Smith, Individual (unable to attend) 59. Angela Gonzalez, Latin American Youth Center * 60. Francarlo Sosa. Individual 61. Maria de Leon, Individual 62. Valorie Jean, Member, Culture Keepers (unable to attend) 63. Brenda Barris, Individual 64. Van Tran, Trainee, ECO City Farms 65. Erik Lopez, Individual 66. Nora Eidelman, Deputy Director, Community Legal Services 67. Michele Clarke. Individual * 68. Anne Marie Binsner. Individual 69. Joselyn Vargas, Individual

70. Evan Hernandez, Individual

71. Rev. Daryl Kearney, Pastor, Turner Memorial AME Church

All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer, read for the record potential Capital Improvement Program projects under consideration by the Council, pursuant to Section 809 of the Charter.

This Public Hearing was held

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 10:41 p.m.

Prepared by:

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Submitted by:

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council