

Prince George's County Council

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Committee of the Whole

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro,
Maryland
20772-3050

Chairman Derrick Leon Davis
Vice Chairwoman Dannielle M. Glaros
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Andrea C. Harrison
Council Member Mary A. Lehman
Council Member Obie Patterson
Council Member Deni L. Taveras
Council Member Karen R. Toles
Council Member Todd Turner

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

10:00 AM

Council Hearing Room

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole was convened by Chairman Davis at 12:37 p.m. with nine members present.

Present 9 - Derrick Davis

Dannielle Glaros

Mel Franklin

Andrea Harrison

Mary Lehman

Obie Patterson

Deni Taveras

Karen Toles

Todd Turner

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Nathaniel Tutt, III, County Executive's Office

Dinora Hernandez, Office of Law

Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer

Thomas Himler, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Budget, Finance, Economic Development and Administration

Economic Development una Auministratio

CR-068-2017

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING CONTRACT APPROVALS for the purpose of approving a multi-year agreement to supplement pay for eligible Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) providers in Prince George's County.

Sponsor(s): Davis, Harrison, Turner, Glaros, Franklin, Taveras and Toles

Attachment(s): R2017068

CR-68-2017 AIS.pdf

William Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator, provided an overview of the legislation and a history of the wage rate disparity. Thomas Himler, DCAO, spoke briefly on behalf of the Administration. Mr. Hunt responded to questions posed by the Council regarding: subsidy percentage, direct care workers, recruitment and retention, and next steps.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and Turner

ADJOURN

The Committee of the Whole adjourned at 1:07 p.m.