

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Derrick Leon Davis, District 6, Chairman
Mel Franklin, District 9

Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3, Vice Chairwoman
Andrea C. Harrison, District 5

Mary A. Lehman, District 1

Obie Patterson, District 8

Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Karen R. Toles, District 7

Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, November 6, 2017

7:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

7:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Davis at 7:04 p.m. with seven members present.

Present: 7 - Chairman Derrick Davis

Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Andrea Harrison Council Member Mary Lehman Council Member Obie Patterson Council Member Deni Taveras Council Member Todd Turner

Absent: Vice Chair Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Karen Toles

The following Planning Board Commissioners were present: Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Chair Dorothy F. Bailey, Vice-Chair Manuel Geraldo A. Shaunice Washington

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council Karen Zavakos, Legislative Officer

JOINT PUBLIC HEARING: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

JT 11062017 Draft 1 JOINT PUBLIC HEARING OF THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY
COUNCIL SITTING AS THE DISTRICT COUNCIL AND THE PRINCE
GEORGE'S COUNTY PLANNING BOARD OF THE
MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO THE ADOPTED GREATER CHEVERLY SECTOR PLAN (CR-84-2017)

Pursuant to the Regional District Act within the Land Use Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, as well as Subtitle 27 of the Prince George's County Code, being also the Zoning Ordinance of Prince George's County, Maryland, notice is hereby given that a second joint public hearing will be held to seek public comment and testimony concerning an amendment to the Adopted Greater Cheverly Sector Plan as outlined in CR-84-2017.

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing was convened. Michael Zamore, M-NCPPC Community Planning Division, provided an overview and facilitated a PowerPoint presentation on the proposed minor amendment under consideration. The following elected officials provided verbal testimony:

The Honorable Jimmy Tarlu, Maryland State Delegate, District 47A
The Honorable Michael Callahan, Mayor, Town of Cheverly
The Honorable Carlo Sanchez, Maryland State Delegate, District 47B
The Honorable Roswell RJ Eldridge, Council Member, Town of Cheverly,
Ward 3

The Honorable Maurielle Steward, Council Member, Town of Cheverly, Ward 4

The Honorable Elizabeth MacKenzie, Council Member, Town of Cheverly, Ward 6

The Honorable Robert Julian Ivey, Council Member, Town of Cheverly, Ward 2

The following citizens provided verbal testimony:

- 1. Dan Smith, Friends of Lower Beaverdam Creek
- 2. Thomas Ruyle, Individual

- 3. Clareen Heikal, Individual (unable to attend)
- 4. Jolene Ivey, Individual
- 5. Joel Gagliardi, Individual (unable to attend)
- 6. Micah Watson, Individual
- 7. Fred Price Jr., Republican Central Committee, District 47 (unable to attend)
- 8. David Estrem, Cheverly Resident
- 9. Jennifer Merner, First Oxford, LLC
- 10. David Abram, Cheverly Boy Scout Troop 0257
- 11. Mary Arras, Individual (unable to attend)
- 12. Gabriel Horchler, Friends of Lower Beaverdam Creek
- 13. Joani Nelson-Horchler, Friends of Lower Beaverdam Creek
- 14. Ralph Hedian, Individual
- 15. Laurel Suor, Individual
- 16. Brendan Malone, Individual (unable to attend)
- 17. Jhonny Merino, Individual
- 18. Brett Theodos, Individual
- 19. Shelia Salo, Cheverly Green Infrastructure Committee
- 20. Lisa Daughtry-Weiss, Individual
- 21. Dottie Li, Maryland Governor's Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs
- 22. Norman Oslik, Progressive Cheverly
- 23. Jeremy Siegel, Individual
- 24. Jack Warner, Cheverly Town Resident
- 25. David Ivey, Individual
- 26. Joseph Dalaker, Individual
- 27. Kendra Moesle, Individual
- 28. Catherine Smith, Friends of Lower Beaverdam Creek
- 29. Patricia King, Individual
- 30. Aaron Ivey, Individual (unable to attend)
- 31. Vincent Herman, Town of Cheverly Planning Board
- 32. Albert Moesle. Individual
- 33. Ann Barsi, Advisory Planning Group Member 2005 Sector Plan (declined to speak)
- 34. Michael Moran, Cheverly Resident (unable to attend)
- 35. Malcom Augustine, Individual
- 36. Marian Dombroski, Friends of Quincy Run
- 37. Tom Tremble, Individual
- 38. John LeGloahec, Individual
- 39. Teresa Williams, Individual
- 40. Holly Cypress, Individual

- 41. Casey Kneip, Individual
- 42. Bob Cornett, Individual (unable to attend)
- 43. Loren LaLonde, Individual
- 44. Barbara Solt, Individual
- 45. Ellen Cornett, Individual (unable to attend)
- 46. Rohini Kosoglu, Individual (unable to attend)
- 47. Caroline Bridgers, Girl Scout Troop 1706 (unable to attend)
- 48. Sedat Kosoglu, Individual (unable to attend)
- 49. Alexander Jarboe, Individual
- 50. David Merkey, Individual
- 51. Madeleline Golde, Individual
- 52. Gerard Glaser, Individual
- 53. Cynthia Robinson, Individual
- 54. Sophia Nasreen Riazi-Sekowsi, Individual
- 55. Laila Riazi, Council Member Ward 1, Vice Chairman Town of Cheverly
- 56. Michael Furnkranz, FLBD
- 57. Chris Furnkranz, Individual
- 58. Katherine Soffer, Individual
- 59. Hester Graves, Individual
- 60. Gareth Frank, Individual
- 61. Julia Mosley, Individual
- 62. Andrea Seabrook, Individual
- 63. Theo Efantis, Individual

The following additional elected officials spoke as well: The Honorable Diana M. Fennell, Maryland State Delegate, District 47A The Honorable Victor R. Ramirez, Senator, District 47

All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Karen Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel, spoke to the process, the associated legal mandates and related County and State zoning regulations. Council Member Harrison thanked the citizens for their participation.

This Joint Public Hearing was held

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 9:27 p.m.

Prepared by:
Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council
Submitted by:
Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council