

## **Prince George's County Council**

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro,
Maryland
20772-3050

Chair Dannielle M. Glaros
Council Member Derrick Leon Davis
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Andrea C. Harrison
Council Member Mary A. Lehman
Council Member Obie Patterson
Council Member Deni L. Taveras
Council Member Karen R. Toles
Vice Chair Todd M. Turner

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

10:45 AM

**Council Hearing Room** 

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The Committee of the Whole was convened by Chair Glaros at 12:15 p.m. with eight members present. Council Member Davis was absent due to a family emergency.

**Present** 8 - Dannielle Glaros

Mel Franklin

Andrea Harrison

Mary Lehman

Obie Patterson

Deni Taveras

Karen Toles

**Todd Turner** 

**Absent** 1 - Derrick Davis

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council Lakeecia Allen, Office of Law Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer

#### CR-014-2018

#### A RESOLUTION CONCERNING ELECTRIC ZERO-EMISSION SCHOOL

<u>BUS FLEET PROGRAM</u> for the purpose of requesting the Governor to use certain funds to purchase and invest in electric zero-emission school bus fleets; adopting a program to transition school bus fleets from diesel to electric; adopting a transition plan to implement an Electric Zero-Emission School Bus Fleet Program; and generally relating to an Electric Zero-Emission School Bus Fleet Program.

**Sponsor(s)**: Taveras

*Attachment(s)*: CR-014-2018 AIS

Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer, provided an overview of the legislation. Under discussion on the motion, Council Member Taveras, as proposer of the legislation, requested her colleagues support. Council Member Lehman applauded the initiative. Council Member Harrison requested clarification as to the fiscal impact. Council Members Turner and Franklin suggested additional State legislators to be included on the distribution.

A motion was made by Council Member Lehman, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Glaros, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras,

Toles and Turner

**Absent:** 1 - Davis

#### **ADJOURN**

*The Committee of the Whole concluded at 12:30 p.m.*