

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3, Chair
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Mel Franklin, District 9
Andrea C. Harrison, District 5
Mary A. Lehman, District 1
Obie Patterson, District 8
Deni L. Taveras, District 2
Karen R. Toles, District 7
Todd M. Turner, District 4, Vice Chair

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, May 7, 2018

7:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Glaros at 7:05 p.m. with seven members present at roll call. Council Member Lehman arrived at 8:38 p.m. Council Member Davis was out on County business.

Present: 8 - Chair Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Andrea Harrison Council Member Mary Lehman Council Member Obie Patterson Council Member Deni Taveras Council Member Karen Toles

Vice Chair Todd Turner

Absent: Council Member Derrick Davis

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer Karen Zavakos, Legislative Officer Turkessa Green, Deputy County Auditor Inez Claggett, Senior Legislative Auditor

PUBLIC HEARING: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PH 05072018 Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2019 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2019 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY, REVENUE AUTHORITY AND INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing was convened at 7:06 p.m. Chair Glaros read, for the record, statements regarding the proposed Prince Georges County Fiscal Year 2018 Constant Yield Tax Rate. The following persons provided verbal testimony (* Indicates that written testimony was also submitted):

Elected Officials:

The Honorable Jerry L. Burgess, Council Member, Town of Brentwood The Honorable Celina Benitez, Council Member, City of Mt. Rainer The Honorable Beth Mackenzie, Council Member, City of Cheverly Interested Citizens:

- 1. Keshia Dempsey, Trinity Empowerment *
- 2. Euripides Rubio, Ops Tech Alliance *
- 3. Anthony C. Nelson, Ph.D., Bowie State University *
- 4. Jeffrey Dee, Habitat for Humanity Metro Maryland
- 5. Margaret Morgan Hubbard, EcoCity Farms
- 6. Janelle Majette, EcoCity Farms Beginning Farmer Training Program
- 7. Kim Rush Lynch UMD Extension *
- 8. Debi Martinez, Individual *
- 9. Jenny Freedman, We Are CASA (Unable to attend)
- 10. Jose Vasquez, Individual (Unable to attend)
- 11. Christian Emeribe, Individual (Unable to attend)
- 12. Colince Vazquez, Individual (Unable to attend)
- 13. George Escobar, We Are CASA
- 14. Preslie Brackeen, EcoCity Farms Beginning Farmer Training Program
- 15. Sandra Shepard, Latin American Youth Center *
- 16. Chloe Marshall, Capital Area Food Bank *

- 17. Dr. Robert M. Ponichtera, Liberty's Promise *
- 18. Priscille Ndzomo, Parkdale High School Student
- 19. Claudiane Boussougon, Northwestern High School Student
- 20. Saffiatu Sankoh, Bladensburg High School Student
- 21. Mustapha Wai, High Point High School Student
- 22. Ben Johnson, Liberty's Promise
- 23. Walakewon Blegay, Individual (Absent)
- 24. Eduardo Martinez, Individual *
- 25. Maleke Glee, Prince George's African American Museum
- 26. Jennifer Iverson, Prince George's Child Resource Center (Absent)
- 27. Carrie Feehan, St. Ann Center for Children, Youth and Family
- 28. Segayle Thompson, Overlook Elementary School PTA *
- 29. Abdul El-Tayef, Individual
- 30. Gina Bowler, Overlook Full Spanish Immersion School PTA *
- 31. Martazsh Henderson, Individual *
- 32. Tracye Scherman, Individual
- 33. Candida Garcia, Individual
- 34. Sirick Velasquec, Individual
- 35. Litzy Velasquec, Individual
- 36. Camille Francis, Prince George's Pride Lacrosse
- 36. Gabe Robinson, Prince George's Pride Lacrosse
- 36. KJ Lee, Prince George's Pride Lacrosse
- 39. Abigail Saldana, Prince George's Pride Lacrosse
- 40. Reyna Bernal, Individual
- 41. Patricia Hayes-Parker, Greater Riverdale Empowerment Center *
- 42. Karen V. McNeal, Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Washington *
- 43. Karen N. Thompson, Family Restoration and Healing Center, Inc.
- 44. April Martin, Real School Gardens
- 45. Leslie Jefferson, Prince George's County Food Equity Council
- 46. Juan Gray, Individual (Absent)
- 47. Porcia Bellamy, EcoCity Farms Beginning Farmer Training Program
- 48. Brooke Kidd, Joe's Movement Emporium World Arts Focus
- 49. Vinisha Browne, Joe's Movement Emporium World Arts Focus
- 50. Angela Flores, Joe's Movement Emporium World Arts Focus
- 51. Ellen O'Neill, ASDEC Dyslexia Therapy and Training *
- 52. Nancy Meyer, Community Forklift
- 53. Mark Noblett, Individual *
- 54. Thomas Duke, Individual
- 55. Ron Williams, Jr., R.L. Williams Farm Food HUB Corporation

- 56. Sydney Daigle, Prince George's Food Equity Council
- 57. Theresa Mitchell Dudley, PGCEA (Absent) *
- 58. April Ademiluyi, Individual (Absent)
- 59. Bonnie J. Roberts, Individual
- 60. Heather Iliff, Maryland Nonprofits *
- 61. Nora Eidelman, Community Legal Services of Prince George's County
 *
- 62. Ann Marie Binsner, Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)/Prince George's
- 63. Mary McCullough, Individual
- 64. Kristin Collins, Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)/Prince George's
- 65. Charlean Rice, Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)/Prince George's
- 66. Victoria Nelson, Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)/Prince George's
- 67. Yvonne Baicich, PGCEA
- 68. Elaine Johnson, Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)/Prince George's
- 69. Michele Clarke, Individual
- 70. John Straub, Adelphi Hills Community Association *
- 71. Ann Stoddard, Adelphi Hills Community Association
- 72. Deborah Rosenfelt, Brothers and Sisters for Action, Prince George's County
- 73. Carlos Ochoa, Individual (Absent)
- 74. Esmeralda Bonilla, Individual (Absent)
- 75. Pamela Jackson, EcoCity Farms New Farmer's Program
- 76. Zena Whitworth, Individual
- 77. Magalie Salas, Adelphi Hills Community Association
- 78. Mary Lutz, Adelphi Hills Community Association
- 79. Laura Rammelsberg, Individual *
- 80. June Dillard, Individual
- 81. Paul Howe, Port Towns Community Development Corporation
- 82. Nehemiah Davis, Community Forklift
- 83. Kristen Nickens, Overlook Full Spanish Immersion School (Absent)
- 84. Elizabeth Watson, Individual
- 85. Albert Wynn, Community Youth Advance
- 86. Corey Lazar, Vera Institute of Justice
- 87. Claudia Cubas, CAIR Coalition *
- 88. Jay Krueger, Individual (Absent)
- 89. Jim Cullen, AFSCME Local 2250 *

- 90. Walakewon Blegay, Individual (Absent)
- 91. Rob Malone, Community Youth Advance
- 92. Chanel Compton, PG African American Museum
- 93. Tamara Davis Brown, Individual (Absent)
- 94. Sade Oshinubi, Chairwoman, United People for African Congress

All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer, read for the record potential Capital Improvement Program projects under consideration by the Council, pursuant to Section 809 of the Charter.

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 10:53 p.m.

Prepared by:
Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council
Submitted by:
Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council