

# **Prince George's County Council**

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Chair Dannielle M. Glaros Council Member Derrick Leon Davis Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Andrea C. Harrison Council Member Mary A. Lehman Council Member Obie Patterson Council Member Deni L. Taveras Council Member Karen R. Toles Vice Chair Todd M. Turner

## Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

### CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole meeting was convened by Chair Glaros at 2:45 p.m. with eight members present.

Present8 -Dannielle Glaros<br/>Derrick Davis<br/>Mel Franklin<br/>Andrea Harrison<br/>Mary Lehman<br/>Obie Patterson<br/>Deni Taveras<br/>Todd Turner

Absent 1 - Karen Toles

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council Nathaniel Tutt, III, County Executive's Office Lakeecia Allen, Office of Law Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer Karen Zavakos, Legislative Officer Howard Stone, Director, PSFM Committee Bradley Frome, Assistant Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for the Economic Development and Public Infrastructure Linda Allen, Treasurer Ronald Gill, Director, Office of Homeland Security

## CB-010-2018

<u>AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING SHORT-TERM RENTALS</u> for the purpose of adding and defining the term Short-Term Rentals and its permitted uses in the Zoning Ordinance; and generally regarding Short-Term Rentals.

# <u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>B2018010</u> <u>CB-10-2018 AIS</u>

Bradley Frome, Assistant Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for the Economic Development and Public Infrastructure, provided brief comment on behalf of the County Executive. The Chair announced that the meeting was being held to garner public input on CB-10-2018 and CB-11-2018. The following persons provided verbal testimony: Bruce Bereano, Samuel Epps, Joseph Tolbert, Will Burns, Amy Rohrer, Paul Watkins, Delores Jones, Liz Faison, Rosalind Redrich, Fred Silvers, Veronica Pearl, Paula McClain, Denise Dunn, Sebastian Fondieng, Joanna Strickland and Lakisha Doyle. The speakers, Mr. Frome and Lakeecia Allen, Associate County Attorney, and Linda Allen, Treasurer, responded to questions posed by the Council. **This Council Bill was Held in Committee** 

## CB-011-2018

<u>AN ACT CONCERNING SHORT-TERM RENTALS</u> for the purpose of establishing permitting and licensing requirements, fees and applicable standards for short-term rentals and generally related to short-term rentals.

## <u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>B2018011</u> CB-11-2018 AIS

Bradley Frome, Assistant Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for the Economic Development and Public Infrastructure, provided brief comment on behalf of the County Executive. The Chair announced that the meeting was being held to garner public input on CB-10-2018 and CB-11-2018. The following persons provided verbal testimony: Bruce Bereano, Samuel Epps, Joseph Tolbert, Will Burns, Amy Rohrer, Paul Watkins, Delores Jones, Liz Faison, Rosalind Redrich, Fred Silvers, Veronica Pearl, Paula McClain, Denise Dunn, Sebastian Fondieng, Joanna Strickland and Lakisha Doyle. The speakers, Mr. Frome and Lakeecia Allen, Associate County Attorney, and Linda Allen, Treasurer, responded to questions posed by the Council.

## This Council Bill was Held in Committee

<u>CR-016-2018</u>

<u>A RESOLUTION CONCERNING HAZARD MITIGATION PLAN</u> for the purpose of adopting an updated County-wide Hazard Mitigation Plan as required by

the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to remain eligible for Federal mitigation assistance for natural disasters.

**Sponsor(s):** Glaros, Turner, Taveras, Franklin, Lehman, Patterson and Davis

Attachment(s):R2018016CR-16-2018 Attachment A (Plan)Appendix AAppendix BAppendix CAppendix DAppendices E thru HCR-16-2018 AISCR-16-2018 Report

Howard Stone, Director of the Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee (PSFM), provided an overview of the legislation. Ronald Gill, Director of Homeland Security, was present and responded to questions posed by the Council.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Glaros, Davis, Franklin, Harrison, Patterson, Taveras and Turner

Absent: 2 - Lehman and Toles

#### CR-044-2018

#### A RESOLUTION CONCERNING COUNTY COUNCIL RULES OF

**<u>PROCEDURE</u>** for the purpose of amending Rules of Procedure for the County Council.

**Sponsor(s):** Glaros, Turner, Davis, Franklin and Taveras

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>R2018044</u>

<u>CR-44-2018 AIS</u>

CR-44-2018 Report

Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer, provided an overview of the legislation and responded to questions posed by the Council. Under discussin, Council Member Turner clarified that the number of members per committee would remain at five and that the legislatin would not take effect until December. A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Glaros, Davis, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras and Turner

Absent: 1 - Toles

## **ADJOURN**

The meeting was adjourned at 5:08 p.m.

## EXECUTIVE SESSION (1ST FLOOR EXECUTIVE CONFERENCE ROOM)

Chair Glaros announced that on Monday, July 9, 2018 a motion was made by Council Member Davis and seconded by Council Member Taveras to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Section 3-305(B)(8), General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, only to discuss and be briefed by the Principal Counsel as to active litigation involving the District Council. The motion carried 6-0; Absent: Council Members Glaros, Patterson and Toles). The Executive Session was held following the Committee of the Whole work-session.