Prince George's County Council

County Administration Bldg 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, September 18, 2013 10:30 AM

Committee Hearing Room 2027

Planning, Zoning and Economic Development Committee

Karen R. Toles, Vice Chair Andrea C. Harrison Eric C. Olson Obie Patterson

Director ~ Jackie W. Brown Administrative Aide ~ Barbara J. Stone 301-952-4199

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 5 -

Mel R. Franklin, Andrea C. Harrison, Eric C. Olson, Obie Patterson and Karen R. Toles

Other Council Members Present Ingrid M. Turner Mary A. Lehman

AGENDA

LEGISLATION

1

2

CR-85-2013 - A RESOLUTION CONCERNING INITIATION OF A
NEW MOUNT RAINIER ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION

OVERLAY ZONE for the purpose of initiating an Architectural Conservation District designation within the City of Mount Rainier and authorizing the Planning Board to prepare an Architectural Conservation Overlay Zone and Architectural Conservation District Plan.

FAVORABLE

Aye: 3-

Chair Franklin, Council Member Olson and Council Member Patterson

Absent: 2 -

Council Member Harrison and Vice Chair Toles

CB-61-2013 - AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING THE M-X-T ZONE for

the purpose of extending the time for abrogation of certain provisions of Section 27-547(b) of the Zoning Ordinance.

FAVORABLY RECOMMENDED WITH AMENDMENTS

Aye: 5-

Chair Franklin, Council Member Harrison, Council Member Olson, Council Member Patterson and Vice Chair Toles

3 CB-51-2013 - AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING COMMERCIAL

ZONES - DAY CARE CENTERS FOR CHILDREN for the purpose of prohibiting day care centers for children in the C-S-C Zone, and providing for amortization by July 1, 2018.

HELD IN COMMITTEE

4 <u>CB-67-2013 - AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING R-55 ZONE</u> for the

purpose of amending the minimum net lot area in the R-55 Zone under certain circumstances.

FAVORABLY RECOMMENDED WITH AMENDMENTS

Aye: 4-

Chair Franklin, Council Member Olson, Council Member Patterson and

Vice Chair Toles

Absent: 1 -

Council Member Harrison

5 <u>CB-57-2013 - AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING DENSITY BONUS</u>

<u>PROGRAMS IN THE M-X-T ZONE</u> for the purpose of authorizing the approval of density bonus programs in the M-X-T Zone under certain

circumstances

HELD IN COMMITTEE

ADJOURN

Staff Present

Jackie Brown, PZED Committee Director Karen Zavakos, Legislative Officer Barbara Stone, Administrative Aide Edwin Brown, Administrative Asst. Matthew Dernoga, Citizen Services, Dist. 1 Sylvia Brown, Citizen Services, Dist. 2 Dannielle Glaros, Chief of Staff, Dist. 3 Thomas Mayah, Citizen Services, Dist. 3 Tomeka Bumbry, Chief of Staff, Dist. 4 Rodney Streeter, Chief of Staff, Dist. 5 Nell Johnson, Chief of Staff, Dist. 6 Shelby McRae, Communications

Others Present

Lisa Jackson, CEX
Steve LaGendre, OOL
Rana Hightower, M-NCPPC
Susan Lareuse, M-NCPPC
G. Frederick Robinson, City of Bowie
Diane Polangin, City of Bowie
Elissa Levan, City of Bowie
Norman Rivera
Jeanette Silor
Andre Gingles
Tom Haller
Stephen Masciola
Larry Taub
Benjamin Woolery
Shola Ajayi, Casa De Maryland

Bob Ross, PGC NAACP