

# **Prince George's County Council**

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Planning, Zoning and Economic Development Committee

Andrea C. Harrison, Chair Dannielle M. Glaros, Vice Chair Mel Franklin Deni L. Taveras Karen R. Toles

Director ~ Jackie Brown Administrative Aide ~ Barbara Stone 301-952-4199

Wednesday, February 17, 2016

10:00 AM

**Committee Hearing Room 2027** 

### ORDER OF PROCEEDING

# **CALL TO ORDER**

**Present:** 5 - Andrea C. Harrison, Dannielle Glaros, Mel Franklin,

Deni L. Taveras and Karen R. Toles

Other Council Members Present: Mary A. Lehman

# **DISCUSSION**

# **DISC 21** Spurring Innovation - Prince George's County Incubators

Ms. June Evans Interim Director Prince George's Community College Center for Entreprenurial Development

Ms. Lisa Smith
Executive Director
Bowie Business Innovation Center

Ms. Kiesha Haughton

**Managing Director** 

Maryland Women's Business Center

Mr. Peter Sandborn

Director

University of Maryland

Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute (MTECH)

#### **Discussion held**

**Attachment(s):** Nurturing Innovation Prince George's County

Presentation PZED 02172016

# **LEGISLATION**

#### CB-003-2016

# AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING RESIDENTIAL, COMMERCIAL, AND

**INDUSTRIAL ZONES - HYDRAULIC FRACTURING** for the purpose of amending the Residential Table of Uses, the Commercial Table of Uses, the Industrial Table of Uses and the Zoning Ordinance to prohibit the mining and exploration of natural gas by hydraulic fracturing in the Residential, Commercial and Industrial Zones in the County.

**Sponsor(s):** Lehman, Taveras, Turner, Glaros and Franklin

#### Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 5 - Chair Harrison, Vice Chair Glaros, Council Member

Franklin, Council Member Taveras and Council Member

**Toles** 

Attachment(s): B2016003

CB-3-2016 AIS

OOL CB-003-2016

ZHE CB-003-2016

# **ADJOURN**

**Also Present:** 

Jackie Brown, Committee Director

Barbara Stone, Administrative Aide

Edwin Brown, Administrative Assistant

**Bill Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator** 

Karen Zavakos, Zoning and Legislative Counsel

Maurene McNeil, ZHE

Rana Hightower, M-NCPPC

Nathanial Tutt, CEX

Lakeecia Allen, OOL

Lisa Smith, Bowie Business Innovation Center

June Evans, Prince George's Community College

Kiesha Haughton, Maryland Women's Business Center

Peter Sandborn, University of Maryland

Calvin Brockington, Reid Community Development Corporation

**Shelly Gross Wade, FSC First** 

**Emily Worth** 

**Darien Pusey** 

**Katie Hoffling** 

Martha Ainsworth

Lili Sheeline

**Kelly Canavan** 

**Mary Forsht-Tucker** 

Joanne Flynn

Nicholas McCarren

**Roy Ann Carney** 

J.T. Stanley

Barbara Sollner-Webb