

Prince George's County Council

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee

Mel Franklin, Chairman
Obie Patterson, Vice Chairman
Mary A. Lehman
Andrea C. Harrison
Todd M. Turner

Director ~ Howard W. Stone Interim Administrative Aide ~ Maurice Simpson, Jr. 301-952-5261

Thursday, March 3, 2016

1:30 PM

Committee Hearing Room 2027

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 5 - Mel Franklin, Obie Patterson, Andrea C. Harrison, Mary

A. Lehman and Todd Turner

Other Council Members present: Karen R. Toles

AGENDA

LEGISLATION

CB-006-2016

AN ACT CONCERNING SWIMMING POOLS for the purpose of amending the Prince George's County Code to comply with new more stringent safety standards for hotel and motel pools under 2,500 square feet of water within Prince George's County; generally relating to the regulation of swimming pools

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 4 - Franklin, Vice Chairman Patterson, Council Member

Harrison and Council Member Turner

Absent: 1 - Council Member Lehman

CB-008-2016

AN ACT CONCERNING THE LABOR CODE for the purpose of amending provisions of the Labor Code to eliminate the Public Employees Board and provide for a

new system of arbitration selection under the Labor Code.

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 4 - Franklin, Vice Chairman Patterson, Council Member

Harrison and Council Member Turner

Absent: 1 - Council Member Lehman

BRIEFING

BR 03032016 Local Impact Grants - Public Safety

Tom Himler, DCAO for Budget, Finance, Economic Development and Administration

Mark A. Magaw, DCAO for Public Safety Henry P. "Hank" Stawinksi, III., Chief of Police

Briefing held

ADJOURN

Also present:

Howard W. Stone, Jr., Committee Director

Colette R. Gresham, Esq., Legislative Attorney

Maurice Simpson, Jr., Interim Administrative Aide

Inez Claggett, Auditor, Office of Audits & Investigations

Mathew J. Neitzy, Executive Director, Conference and Visitors Bureau

Amy Rohrer, President & CEO, Maryland Hotel & Lodging Association

John Teletchea, President, FOP 89

Rhonda L. Weaver, Deputy Director, OHRM

Nathaniel Tutt, Council Liaison

LaKeecia Allen, Esq., OOL