

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final

Transportation, Housing and the Environment Committee

Todd M. Turner, Chair Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair Derrick Leon Davis Mary A. Lehman Obie Patterson

Director ~ Hawi Sanu Administrative Aide ~ Victoria Middleton ~ 301-952-3694

Committee Hearing Room 2027 Thursday, October 6, 2016 10:00 AM **ORDER OF PROCEEDING** CALL TO ORDER **Present:** 4 - Chairman Todd Turner, Vice Chair Deni Taveras, Council Member Obie Patterson and Council Member **Derrick** Davis Absent: 1 - Council Member Mary Lehman **Other Council Members present: Dannielle M. Glaros Mel Franklin LEGISLATION** CR-066-2016 A RESOLUTION CONCERNING COMMERCIAL PROPERTY ASSESSED CLEAN ENERGY PROGRAM for the purpose of requiring the County to prepare a plan for implementing a Commercial Property Assessed Clean Energy Program that facilitates energy improvements and requires repayment through a surcharge on the owner's property tax bill. Glaros, Davis, Lehman, Harrison, Turner, Taveras and Sponsor(s): Franklin **Favorably recommended** Turner, Taveras, Patterson and Davis Ave: 4 -1 -Absent: Lehman

| <u>CB-059-2016</u> | AN ACT CONCERNING LANDLORD-TENANT CODE DRUG ACTIVITY AND PROSTITUTION for the purpose of making persons, landlords, landlord agents, management staff and/or owners, as well as tenants, liable for the use of apartments for drug activities and/or for prostitution, including human trafficking; providing punishment for statutory violators; providing a voluntary program on human trafficking; providing for voluntary registration, voluntary training, and voluntary certification; and generally regarding drug activity and/or prostitution, including human trafficking. Sponsor(s): Taveras |
|--------------------|--|
| | Favorably recommended with amendments |
| | Aye: 4 - Turner, Taveras, Patterson and Davis |
| | Absent: 1 - Lehman |
| <u>CB-064-2016</u> | <u>AN ACT CONCERNING EVICTION</u> for the purpose of providing legislative intent; requiring certain notification; requiring certain responsibilities for trash removal following an eviction; providing for a certain exception; providing for fines; and generally relating to evictions and <u>Sponsor(s)</u> : Taveras |
| | Favorably recommended with amendments |
| | Aye: 4 - Turner, Taveras, Patterson and Davis |
| | Absent: 1 - Lehman |
| <u>CB-076-2016</u> | AN ACT CONCERNING GREEN BUILDING PERMIT INCENTIVESforthe purpose of providing permit fee reductions for LEED certified building construction and renovations and the installation of solar panels under certain circumstances.Sponsor(s):Franklin, Davis, Glaros, Harrison, Lehman, Patterson, Taveras, Toles and TurnerHeld in CommitteeAttachment(s):B2016076 CB-76-2016 AIS.pdf CB-76-2016 Fiscal Impact |
| | |
| <u>APPT-16</u> | The following individuals are appointments to The Prince George's County Solid Waste Advisory Commission: |

Mr. Hari B. Bindal, P.E.

Appointment Replacing: Jack Sims Current Term Expiration: 11/5/2016 Full Term Expiration: 11/5/2019

Mr. Brent C. Bolin Appointment Replacing: Howard E. Jackson Term Expiration: 11/5/2018

Ms. Kawana Cohen-Hopkins Reappointment Current Term Expiration: 11/5/2016 Full Term Expiration: 11/5/2019

Ms. Victoria L. Greenfield Appointment Replacing: Douglas E. Edwards, Ph.D. Term Expiration: 11/5/2017

Mr. Mouhaman Sani Kola Appointment Replacing: Vincent L. Ford Term Expiration: 11/5/2018

Ms. Nancy J. Meyer Appointment Replacing: Henry W. Harris Full Term Expiration: 11/5/2019

Mr. John J. Neville Appointment Replacing: Nicole A. Hinds Term Expiration: 11/5/2017

Ms. Sara Reed Appointment Replacing: Eva Thorne Term Expiration: 11/5/2017

Mr. Charles L. Renninger Reappointment Term Expiration: 11/5/2018

Mr. Leonard E. Robinson Appointment Replacing: Samuel B. Moki, Ph.D. Current Term Expiration: 11/5/2016 Full Term Expiration: 11/5/2019

Mr. William L. Walmsley, Jr. Appointment Replacing: Justin Thornton Term Expiration: 11/5/2017

Favorably recommended

Aye: 4 - Turner, Taveras, Patterson and Davis

Absent: 1 - Lehman

Others present: Hawi Sanu, THE Committee Director Victoria M. Middleton, THE Committee Aide Kathleen Canning, THE Legislative Officer **Colette Gresham, PSFM Legislative Officer** Edwin Brown, THE Administrative Assistant Nathaniel Tutt, CEX, Liaison John Gwynn, LAW, Associate County Attorney Andrea Anderson, CEX, Appointments Liaison Susan Hubbard, DPIE Marcus D. Jackson, MBIA Annette Rosenblum, MBIA **Michelle Foster, Home Innovations Research Lab** Ron W. Wineholt, AOBA-Maryland **Dwayne Mingo, PGCAR** Angela Angel, DoE Michael Brown, DPW&T **Major Charles Hamby, PGCPD** Lt. David Martini, PGCPD Sgt. Hartman, PGCPD **Det. Lopez, PGCPD Captain Sharon Saunders, PGCSD Colonel Darrin C. Palmer, PGCSD** Hari B. Bindal, P.E., Appointment Brent C. Bolin, Appointment Victoria L. Greenfield, Appointment Mouhaman Sani Kola, Appointment Nancy J. Meyer, Appointment John J. Neville, Appointment Sara Reed, Appointment **Charles L. Renninger, Reappointment** William L. Walmsley, Jr., Appointment

ADJOURN