

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final

Transportation, Housing and the Environment Committee

Todd M. Turner, Chair Mary A. Lehman, Vice Chair Mel Franklin Obie Patterson Deni L. Taveras

Director ~ Hawi Sanu Administrative Aide ~ Victoria Middleton 301-952-3694

Wednesday, March 1,	2017	1:30 PM	Committee Hearing Room 2027	
ORDER OF PROCEE	DING			
CALL TO ORDER				
	Present: 5	,	/ice Chair Mary Lehman, Council n, Council Member Obie Patterson Deni Taveras	
Others present: Council Member Dann	ielle M. Glaros			
<u>APPOINTMENTS</u>				
<u>APPT-19</u>		the following (9) individu ship Communities for Pri	als to the Commission on ince Georges County.	
	•	Terry L. Anderson Appointment Term Expiration: Two years from date of appointment		
	Rafe Reginald Ellison Appointment Term Expiration: One year from date of appointment		appointment	

Joanne R. Jackson

Appointment Term Expiration: One year from date of appointment

John Henry King Appointment Term Expiration: Three years from date of appointment

Cassandra J. Lewis Appointment Term Expiration: One year from date of appointment

Aaron A. Marcavitch Appointment Term Expiration: Two years from date of appointment

Timothy L. Smith Appointment Term Expiration: Three years from date of appointment

Shirley D. Walker Appointment Term Expiration: Two years from date of appointment

Nicole A. Williams Appointment Term Expiration: Three years from date of appointment

Favorably recommended

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

LEGISLATION

<u>CB-008-2017</u>

AN ACT CONCERNING RECYCLING - SPECIAL EVENTS for the purpose of providing for recycling at certain special events; providing for more stringent recycling requirements and civil penalties; providing for reporting requirements; providing for compliance with a certain Recycling Plan; providing for the collection and disposition of certain civil penalties; providing for certain inspections; and generally relating to recycling. *Sponsor(s):* Lehman and Glaros

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

	-	0	
	<u>Attachment(s)</u> :	<u>B2017008</u>	
		<u>CB-8-2017 AIS.pdf</u>	
		CB-08-2017 Fiscal Impact	
		CB-08-2017 Legislative Comment	
		<u>CB-08-2017 DR-2</u>	
CD 002 2017			
<u>CR-003-2017</u>	A RESOLUTION CONCERNING FY 2017-2026 COMPREHENSIVE TEN		
	<u>YEAR SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT PLAN</u> for the purpose of adopting the Prince George's County FY 2017-2026 Ten Year Solid Waste Management Plan as recommended by the County Executive.		
	<i>Sponsor(s)</i> :	Turner	
	Held in Commi		
	<u>Attachment(s)</u> :		
		Ten Year Solid Waste Plan 2017-2026 (Draft)	
		<u>CR-3-2017 AIS</u>	
		<u>CR-3-2017 Transmittal</u>	
		<u>CR-03-2017 Fiscal Impact</u>	
		CR-03-2017 Legislative Comment	
DISCUSSION			
<u>DISC 49</u>	Department of Public Works & Transportation "Resurfacing Funds"		
	Discussion held		
	<u>Attachment(s)</u> :	Resurfacing Funds Presentation	
<u>DISC 50</u>	Department of Public Works & Transportation "Pedestrian Safety Updates 2017"		
	Discussion held		
	<u>Attachment(s)</u> :	Pedestrian Safety Updates 2017 Presentation	
ADJOURN			

March 1, 2017

Others present: Hawi Sanu, THE Committee Director Kathleen Canning, THE Legislative Officer Victoria Middleton, THE Administrative Aide Edwin Brown, Jr., THE Administrative Assistant Nathaniel Tutt, III, CEX Liaison **Dinora Hernandez, OOL Associate County Attorney** Andrea Anderson, CEX Appointments Liaison Terry L. Anderson, Common Ownership Commission Appointment **Rafe Reginald Ellison, Common Ownership Commission Appointment** Joanne R. Jackson, Common Ownership Commission Appointment John Henry King, Common Ownership Commission Appointment Dr. Cassandra J. Lewis, Common Ownership Commission Appointment Aaron A. Marcavitch, Common Ownership Commission Appointment **Timothy L. Smith, Common Ownership Commission Appointment** Shirley D. Walker, Common Ownership Commission Appointment Nicole A. Williams, Common Ownership Commission Appointment Joseph Gill, DOE Deputy Director Marilyn Rybak, DOE Acting Assoc. Director - Waste Management Darrell B. Mobley, DPW&T Director Martin Harris, DPW&T Deputy Director Gwen Clerkley, DPW&T Associate Director Karyn McAllister, DPW&T Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator Fred Shaffer, M-NCPPC Planner Coordinator - Transportation Section Kenneth E. Healy, PG Sierra Club Group