

# **Prince George's County Council**

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Transportation, Housing and the Environment Committee

Todd M. Turner, Chair Mary A. Lehman, Vice Chair Mel Franklin Obie Patterson Deni L. Taveras

Director ~ Hawi Sanu
Administrative Aide ~ Victoria Middleton
301-952-3694

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

1:30 PM

**Committee Hearing Room 2027** 

# **ORDER OF PROCEEDING**

**Present:** 5 - Chair Todd Turner, Vice Chair Mary Lehman, Council Member Mel Franklin, Council Member Obie Patterson

and Council Member Deni Taveras

Other Council Members Present: Karen R. Toles

**CALL TO ORDER** 

# **DISCUSSION**

CB-031-2017

AN ACT CONCERNING PARKING ENFORCEMENT for the purpose of providing for the transfer of the authority, responsibilities, personnel, and budget and any additional matters regarding parking regulations from the Department of the Environment to the Revenue Authority, providing for a Memorandum of Understanding; providing for the expanded authority of the Revenue Authority over abandoned vehicles, providing for the expanded authority of the Revenue Authority over parking regulations; and generally relating to vehicles and parking.

**Sponsor(s):** Glaros, Turner, Davis, Toles, Lehman, Harrison and Franklin

This Council Bill was Discussion held

*Attachment(s)*: B2017031

CB-31-2017 AIS

# **LEGISLATION**

### CR-013-2017

# A RESOLUTION CONCERNING STATEWIDE SPECIAL

TRANSPORTATION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM for the purpose of authorizing the Director of the Prince George's County Department of Public Works and Transportation to file an application for Fiscal Year 2018 with the Maryland Transit Administration of the Maryland Department of Transportation for certain grants under the Statewide Special Transportation Assistance Program ("SSTAP") and the Federal Transit Act.

**Sponsor(s):** Davis, Lehman, Harrison, Turner, Glaros, Franklin and

**Taveras** 

A motion was made by Council Member Franklin, seconded by Council Member Patterson, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2017013

<u>CR-13-2017 AIS.pdf</u> CR-13-2017 Report

<u>CR-013-2017 Fiscal Impact</u> CR-13-2017 Transmittal

# CR-003-2017

# A RESOLUTION CONCERNING FY 2017-2026 COMPREHENSIVE TEN

YEAR SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT PLAN for the purpose of adopting the Prince George's County FY 2017-2026 Ten Year Solid Waste Management Plan as recommended by the County Executive.

**Sponsor(s):** Turner

This Resolution was Held in Committee

*Attachment(s)*: R2017003

CR-3-2017 AIS.pdf

Ten Year Solid Waste Plan 2017-2026 (DR-2)

CR-003-2017 Report
CR-3-2017 Transmittal
CR-03-2017 Fiscal Impact

### **BUDGET WORKSESSION**

### BU 2017-17

# **WSSC Operating FY 2018**

A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Council Member Patterson, that this Budget Item be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Turner, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

Nay: 1 - Lehman

# BU 2017-18 WSSC CIP FY 2018

A motion was made by Vice Chair Lehman, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Budget Item be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

# **Also Present:**

Hawi Sanu, Committee Director Lochelle Ferguson, Administrative Assistant Kathleen Canning, County Council Nathaniel Tutt, CEX Dinora Henandez, OOL Patrick Pope, A&I Adam Ortiz, DoE Robert Reading, DoE Marilyn Rybak, DoE Geralyn Bruce, DPWT Rushane Jones, DoE Peter Shapiro, Revenue Authority **Anthony Poteat, Revenue Authority** Carla Reid, WSSC Joseph Beach, WSSC Joe Mantua, WSSC Monica Johnson, WSSC Crystal Knight-Lee, WSSC Letitia Carolina-Powell, WSSC Tom Street, WSSC Gary Gumm, WSSC

# **ADJOURN**