

Prince George's County Council

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Transportation, Housing and the Environment Committee

Todd M. Turner, Chair Mary A. Lehman, Vice Chair Mel Franklin Obie Patterson Deni L. Taveras

Director ~ Hawi Sanu Administrative Aide ~ Victoria Middleton 301-952-3694

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

1:30 PM

Committee Hearing Room 2027

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

Present: 5 - Chair Todd Turner, Vice Chair Mary Lehman, Council

Member Mel Franklin, Council Member Obie Patterson

and Council Member Deni Taveras

CALL TO ORDER

<u>PR-17-1</u> Continuation of Reservation Plats for Rights-of-Way Due to Expire on June 30,

2017

Favorably recommended

Aye: 3 - Turner, Lehman and Franklin

Absent: 2 - Patterson and Taveras

APPOINTMENTS

APPT-30 Redevelopment Authority for Prince George's County

Ronnette B. Earle

Appointment: Public Member

Replacing: Nabee Yi

Term Expiration: 7/28/2021

John R. Tabori

Appointment: Public Member Replacing: *Christopher Aragona* Term Expiration: 7/28/2020

Harmon L. "Monty" Cooper Reappointment: Publc Member Term Expiration: 7/28/2020

David C. Harrington

Reappointment: *Public Member* Term Expiration: 7/28/2021

Favorably recommended

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

LEGISLATION

CR-023-2017

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE 2008 WATER AND SEWER PLAN (DECEMBER 2016 CYCLE OF AMENDMENTS) for the purpose of changing the water and sewer category designations of properties within the 2008 Water and Sewer Plan.

Sponsor(s): Davis, Turner, Taveras and Franklin

Favorably recommended

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

Attachment(s): R2017023

CR-23-2017 AIS

CR-23-2017 Transmittal

CB-012-2017

AN ACT CONCERNING FORECLOSED PROPERTY REGISTRY

ENFORCEMENT for the purpose of establishing civil penalties for the failure to register foreclosed properties; enforcing compliance by existing foreclosure purchasers, and generally relating to the enforcement of foreclosed property registration.

Sponsor(s): Franklin

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

Attachment(s): B2017012

CB-12-2017 AIS.pdf

CB-014-2017

AN ACT CONCERNING SECONDHAND AND PAWN DEALERS for the purpose of repealing the requirement that a pawn dealer or secondhand precious

metal objects dealer pay a transaction fee to submit an electronic report required pursuant to State law and generally relating to pawn dealers and secondhand precious metal objects dealers.

Sponsor(s): Patterson and Toles

Held in Committee

Attachment(s): B2017014

CB-14-2017 AIS.pdf

CB-046-2017

AN ACT CONCERNING TAX SALES OF PROPERTIES OWNED BY

<u>COMMON OWNERSHIP COMMUNITIES</u> for the purpose of making properties owned by common ownership communities ineligible for tax sale.

Sponsor(s): Franklin

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 5 - Turner, Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

Attachment(s): B2017046

CB-46-2017 AIS.pdf

Others present:

Hawi Sanu, THE Committee Director

Kathleen Canning, THE Legislative Officer

Victoria Middleton, THE Administrative Aide

Maurice Simpson, Administrative Aide

Edwin Brown, Jr., Administrative Assistant

Nathaniel Tutt, CEX

Dinora Hernandez, OOL

Tom Masog, M-NCPPC

Shirley Branch, DoE

Tiffany Williams-Jennings, M-NCPPC

Andrea Anderson, CEX

John R. Tabori, Appointee-Redevelopment Authority

David C. Harrington, Appointee-Redevelopment Authority

Harmon L. Cooper, Appointee-Redevelopment Authority

Ronnette B. Earle, Appointee-Redevelopment Authority

D. Robert Enten, Gordon Feinblatt, LLC.

CAPT. Ken Humbel, PGCPD

Ed Gibbs, Esq.

Linda Allen, FIN

SGT. Andrea Sheehan, PGCPD

<u>ADJOURN</u>