

Prince George's County Council

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee

Dannielle M. Glaros, Chair Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair Andrea C. Harrison Mary A. Lehman Todd M. Turner

Director ~ Howard W. Stone Administrative Aide ~ Lochelle Ferguson 301-952-4195

Thursday, July 13, 2017

1:30 PM

Committee Hearing Room 2027

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

Present: 5 - Chair Dannielle Glaros, Vice Chair Deni Taveras,

Council Member Andrea Harrison, Council Member Mary Lehman and Council Member Todd Turner

CALL TO ORDER

Other Council Members Present: Mel Franklin

LEGISLATION

CR-056-2017

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING PUBLIC SAFETY SURCHARGE for the

purpose of adjusting the public safety surcharge for Fiscal Year 2018, beginning July 1, 2017, as required by State law.

Sponsor(s): Davis, Turner, Harrison, Toles, Lehman, Glaros, Franklin,

Taveras and Patterson

Favorably recommended

Aye: 5 - Glaros, Taveras, Harrison, Lehman and Turner

Attachment(s): R2017056

CR-56-2017 AIS
CR-56-2017 Report
CR-56-2017 Comment
CR-56-2017 Fiscal Impact

CR-057-2017

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING SCHOOL FACILITIES SURCHARGE

for the purpose of adjusting the school facilities surcharge for Fiscal Year 2018, beginning July 1, 2017, as required by State law.

Sponsor(s): Davis, Toles, Lehman, Harrison, Turner, Glaros, Franklin,

Taveras and Patterson

Favorably recommended

Aye: 5 - Glaros, Taveras, Harrison, Lehman and Turner

Attachment(s): R2017057

CR-57-2017 AIS
CR-57-2017 Report
CR-57-2017 Comment
CR-57-2017 Fiscal Impact

CB-003-2017

AN ACT CONCERNING VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTERS for the purpose of amending the Code to provide for a medical presumption of occupational disease for Volunteer Firefighters.

Sponsor(s): Lehman

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 4 - Glaros, Taveras, Lehman and Turner

Absent: 1 - Harrison

BRIEFING

BR07132017a Prince George's County Financial Challenges

Dave Van Dyke, County Auditor John Taboiri, Member Blue Ribbon Commission on Addressing the County's Structural Deficit

Briefing held

BR07132017b Public Financing of Elections

David Sanchez, Coordinator, Democracy Initiative Bob Drummer, Esq., Senior Legislative Attorney, Montgomery County Jared Demarinis, Maryland State Board of Elections Brent Ferguson Esq., Brennan Center for Justice Jennifer Bevan-Dangle, Maryland Director, Common Cause

Briefing held

Others Present:

Howard Stone, Committee Director Colette Gresham, Legislative Attorney Dave Van Dyke, A&I Inez Claggett, A&I Lochelle Ferguson, Administrative Aide Edwin Brown, Administrative Aide **Nathaniel Tutt, OCEX** LaKeecia Allen, OOL John R. Tabori, Blue Ribbon Commission Stanley Early, OMB Latasha Coates, OMB Benjamin Barksdale, Chief PGCFD Julian Tucker, PGCFD William O. Cunningham, PGCFD Karen Gooden, OHRM Shelisia Ivy, OHRM Julia Sanders, OHRM David Sanchez, Coordinator, Democracy Initiative Jared Demarinis, Maryland State Board of Elections Brent Ferguson Esq., Brennan Center for Justice Jennifer Bevan-Dangle, Maryland Director, Commom Cause

ADJOURN