

Prince George's County Council

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Rules/General Assembly Committee

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro,
Maryland
20772-3050

Todd M. Turner, Chair
Derrick L. Davis, Vice Chair
Andrea C. Harrison
Obie Patterson
Deni L. Taveras

Director ~ Jennifer Jenkins Administrative Aide ~ Maurice Simpson, Jr. 301-952-3463

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

10:00 AM

Council Hearing Room

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was convened by Chair Todd M. Turner at 10:08 a.m. with four members present. Council Member Taveras arrived at 10:13 a.m.

Present: 4 -

4 - Chair Todd Turner, Vice Chair Derrick Davis, Council Member Andrea Harrison and Council Member Obie

Patterson

Absent: 1 -

- Council Member Deni Taveras

INTRODUCTION OF 2018 LEGISLATIVE TEAM

DISCUSSED

JOINT 2018 LEGISLATIVE PRIORITY LETTER

LTR 01162018

Proposed joint letter to the Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor, The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Senate President and the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House transmitting the County's State Legislative Priorities for the 2018 General Assembly Session.

Attachment(s): 2018 Legislative Priorities Letter

Mr. Nathaniel Tutt, Office of the County Executive, provided an overview of the letter that transmits the County's State Legislative Priorities for the 2018 General Assembly Session.

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 5 - Turner, Davis, Harrison, Patterson and Taveras

STATEWIDE MINIMUM WAGE DISCUSSION

SUPPORT WITH DETAILED LETTER

BILL CONSIDERATION

Law Enforcement

PG 302-18 (Valderrama) Speed Monitoring Systems – Rte 210

SUPPORT

County Affairs

PG 418-18 (Chair/BR CEX) Vehicle Laws - Authority to Tow Abandoned Vehicles

SUPPORT

Bi-County

PG/MC 108-18 (Holmes) Maryland-Washington Regional – Prince George's County – Municipal Authority

HELD

MACo UPDATES

DISCUSSED

GENERAL ASSEMBLY UPDATES

DISCUSSED

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 11:19 a.m.

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Council Administrator
Ree Floyd, Clerk of the Council
Terry Myers, Office of the Clerk of the Council
Jennifer Jenkins, Committee Director
Colette R. Gresham, Esq., Legislative Officer
Maurice Simpson, Jr., Committee Aide
Nathanial Tutt, CEX
LaKeecia Allen, Esq., Office of Law
Dinora Hernandex, Esq., Office of Law
Major Riddick, Strategic Solutions Center, LLC
Tia Holmes, Strategic Solutions Center, LLC
Martin Mitchell, LA Perez Consulting, LLC
Eddie Pounds, O'Malley Miles