

Prince George's County Council

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro,
Maryland
20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee

Derrick L. Davis, Chair Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair Todd M. Turner Mary A. Lehman Obie Patterson

Director ~ Howard W. Stone Administrative Aide ~ Lochelle Ferguson 301-952-4195

Thursday, March 8, 2018

1:30 PM

Committee Hearing Room 2027

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 5 -

Chair Derrick Davis, Vice Chair Deni Taveras, Council Member Todd Turner, Council Member Mary Lehman and Council Member Obie Patterson

LEGISLATION

CB-006-2018

purpose of amending, without substantive change, the policy and strategies of certain County Regional Transit Districts and Local Centers to provide financial assistance and other tools to promote the development of higher-density housing in transit-oriented and mixed-use communities, consistent with current County Policies and Strategies approved in the 2014 General Plan for the County, *Plan Prince George's 2035*, to meet qualifying statutory criteria for an exemption from

AN ACT CONCERNING SCHOOL FACILITIES SURCHARGE for the

payment of the School Facilities Surcharge enacted by the Maryland General Assembly for certain multifamily dwelling units, or apartments created through the conversion of vacant office buildings.

Sponsor(s): Patterson

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: B2018006 (DR-1)

CB-06-2018 Fiscal Impact

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 3 - Davis, Turner and Patterson

Nay: 2 - Taveras and Lehman

DISCUSSION ITEM

CB-004-2018

AN ACT CONCERNING PUBLIC CAMPAIGN FINANCING for the purpose of establishing a Fair Election Fund to provide public campaign financing for a candidate for a County elective office; regulating certain campaign finance activity of a candidate for County elective office who voluntarily accepts public campaign financing; authorizing the Maryland State Board of Elections to administer and enforce the public campaign financing system; and providing for penalties for violations of the public campaign financing system.

Sponsor(s): Lehman, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>B2018004</u>

CB-4-2018 AIS.pdf

Discussion held

Also Present:

Howard Stone, PSFM Committee Director

Colette Gresham, Legislative Counsel

Karen Zavakos, Legislative Counsel

Lochelle Ferguson, Administrative Aide

Edwin Brown, Administrative Assistant

Nathaniel Tutt, OCEX

LaKeecia Allen, OOL

Inez Claggett, A&I

Gillie Haynes, CCL

Jared McCarty, OOL

Matt Tedesco, McNamee Hosea

Joanne Antoine, Common Cause

Damon Effingham, Commom Cause

Marva Jo Camp, Capital Court

Joanne Zdanys, Brennan Center

Delman Coates, Mt. Ennon Baptist Church

Emily Scarr, Maryland PIRG

Charles Smith, Progressive Maryland

Diana Torres, Progressive Maryland

Sarah Cavitt, IHHAAC

William Kastens, Get Money Out, Maryland and Maryland United for Peace & Justice

Carol Nezzo, Calvert Hills Civic Association

ADJOURN