**Prince George's County Council** 



County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

# **Report of the Standing Committee - Final Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee**

Derrick L. Davis, Chair Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair Todd M. Turner Mary A. Lehman Obie Patterson

Director ~ Howard W. Stone Administrative Aide ~ Lochelle Ferguson 301-952-4195

Thursday, July 12, 2018	3	1:30 PM	<b>Committee Hearing Room 2027</b>
ORDER OF PROCEED	ING		
	Present:	resent: 5 - Chair Derrick Davis, Vice Chair Deni Taveras, Council Member Todd Turner, Council Member Mary Lehman and Council Member Obie Patterson	
CALL TO ORDER			
<u>APPOINTMENT</u>			
<u>APPT-9-18</u>	Reappointment of the following individual as Executive Director of the Office of Ethics and Accountability for Prince George's County.		
	Robin Barnes-Shell, Esq.		
	Reappointment		
	Term Expiration	3/31/2022	
	Favorably recommended		
	Aye:	5 - Davis, Taveras, Turne	er, Lehman and Patterson
<b>LEGISLATION</b>			
<u>CB-009-2018</u>	<u>AN ACT CONCERNING PERSONNEL LAW</u> for the purpose of amending provisions of the Personnel Law relating to salary policy, adjustments and rates to provide flexibility to ensure salary equity among employees who perform similar		

## work.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>:

CB-9-2018 AIS

B2018009

#### **Favorably recommended**

Aye: 5 - Davis, Taveras, Turner, Lehman and Patterson

CB-050-2018

# AN ACT CONCERNING THE ISSUANCE AND SALE OF SPECIAL OBLIGATION BONDS FOR THE WESTPHALIA TOWN CENTER DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT AND WESTPHALIA TOWN CENTER

**SPECIAL TAXING DISTRICT** for the purpose of amending and ratifying CB-108-2017 of the County Council of Prince George's County, Maryland (the "Original Bond Ordinance"); providing that, upon the satisfaction of the conditions set forth therein and herein, special obligation bonds may be issued from time to time under the provisions of the Original Bond Ordinance and this Act, Sections 12-201 through 12-213 of the Economic Development Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, as amended (the "Tax Increment Financing Act"), Section 10-269 of the Prince George's County Code, as amended, and Sections 21-501 through 21-518 and Section 21-523 of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, as amended (collectively with Section 10-269 of the Prince George's County Code, the "Special Taxing District Act," and together with the Tax Increment Financing Act, the "Acts"), CR-76-2016 of the County Council of Prince George's County, Maryland (the "Special Taxing District Formation Resolution") and CR-77-2016 of the County Council of Prince George's County, Maryland (the "Development District Formation Resolution" and together with the Special Taxing District Formation Resolution, the "Formation Resolutions") in an amount not to exceed the aggregate principal amount of Forty-Two Million Dollars (\$42,000,000), in order for the County to finance or reimburse, in accordance with the Acts, costs related to the construction and installation of certain of the public infrastructure improvements to support certain residential, retail, commercial (including warehouse, distribution facilities and direct to market retail) and office facility development in the "Westphalia Town Center Development District" created pursuant to the Development District Formation Resolution (the "Development District") and in the "Westphalia Town Center Special Taxing District" created pursuant to the Special Taxing District Formation Resolution (the "Special Taxing District," and together with the Development District, the "Districts") by Walton Development & Management (USA), Inc. (or one of its affiliates or subsidiaries) (the "Developer").

**Sponsor(s):** Glaros, Davis, Turner, Franklin and Taveras

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>B2018050</u>

<u>CB-50-2018 Exhibit A</u> CB-50-2018 AIS

**Favorably recommended** 

Aye: 4 - Davis, Taveras, Turner and Lehman

Abstain: 1 - Patterson

Others Present: Howard Stone, PSFM Committee Director Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer Lochelle Ferguson, Administrative Aide Nathaniel Tutt, CEX LaKeecia Allen, LAW Andrea Anderson, CEX Robin Barnes-Shell, Director, OEA Valerie Farrar, ORHM Bridgette Greer, OHRM Tom Himler, DCAO, OMB Edward Fleming, Walton Westphalia

## **ADJOURN**