

Prince George's County Council

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro,
Maryland
20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Transportation, Housing and the Environment Committee

Todd M. Turner, Chair Karen R. Toles, Vice Chair Mary A. Lehman Mel Franklin Deni L. Taveras

Acting Director ~ Sandra Eubanks Administrative Aide ~ Victoria Middleton 301-952-3694

Thursday, October 11, 2018

10:00 AM

Committee Hearing Room 2027

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 4 - Chair Todd Turner, Vice Chair Karen Toles, Council

Member Mary Lehman and Council Member Deni

Taveras

Absent: 1 - Council Member Mel Franklin

BRIEFING

<u>BR 10112018</u> Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (WSSC)

- Spending Affordability Limits
- Rate Structure Recommendation Update

Staff directed to prepare Resolution establishing control limits.

Briefing held

LEGISLATION

CR-071-2018 A RESOLUTION CONCERNING APPROVAL OF A CERTAIN

REFUNDING PLAN OF THE WSSC for the issuance of Refunding Bonds for the purpose of approving the Refunding Plan of the WSSC for the refunding of

certain bonds of the Washington Suburban Sanitary District through the issuance of General Construction Refunding Bonds, Water Supply Refunding Bonds, and Sewage Disposal Refunding Bonds of the Washington Suburban Sanitary District.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2018071

CR-71-2018 Exhibit A

CR-71-2018 AIS

CR-071-2018 Report

Favorably recommended

Aye: 3 - Turner, Lehman and Taveras

Absent: 2 - Toles and Franklin

CR-072-2018

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE APPROVAL OF AN APPLICATION TO PRESERVE PROPERTY PURSUANT TO THE MARYLAND AGRICULTURAL LAND PRESERVATION FOUNDATION PROGRAM for

the purpose of recommending that the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation approve the application of the Meloy Family Real Estate Partnership to permanently preserve the property.

Attachment(s): R2018072

CR-72-2018 Attachment A

CR-72-2018 AIS

Favorably recommended

Ave: 3 - Turner, Lehman and Taveras

Absent: 2 - Toles and Franklin

CR-073-2018

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE APPROVAL OF AN APPLICATION TO PRESERVE PROPERTY PURSUANT TO THE MARYLAND AGRICULTURAL LAND PRESERVATION FOUNDATION PROGRAM for

the purpose of recommending that the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation approve the application of Carol D. and John A. Flewelling, Jr. to permanently preserve the property.

Attachment(s): R2018073

CR-73-2018 Attachment A

CR-73-2018 AIS

Agenda Item Summary

Favorably recommended

Aye: 3 - Turner, Lehman and Taveras

Absent: 2 - Toles and Franklin

CR-075-2018

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING TRANSPORTATION NETWORK

SERVICES for the purpose of enacting provisions pertaining to the establishment and administration of funds provided for the Transportation Services Improvement Fund of Prince George's County, which supports a per-trip surcharge on certain transportation network services to increase the safety, accessibility and reliability of the County's transportation system.

Attachment(s): R2018075

CR-75-2018 AIS CR-075-2018 Report

Favorably recommended

Aye: 3 - Turner, Lehman and Taveras

Absent: 2 - Toles and Franklin

CB-096-2018

AN ACT CONCERNING RESIDENTIAL PARKING for the purpose of increasing residential parking fines, and generally relating to residential parking.

Attachment(s): B2018096

CB-96-2018 AIS

Reported out with no recommendation

Aye: 4 - Turner, Toles, Lehman and Taveras

Absent: 1 - Franklin

DISC 13-2018

RECAP 2018 THE HIGHLIGHTS

Discussion held

ADJOURN

Others Present:

Sandra Eubanks, THE, Interim Committee Director

Charlotte Aheart, Administrative Aide

Edwin Brown, Administrative Assistant

Kathleen H. Canning, Legislative Officer

Canjor Reed, Auditor

Nathaniel K. Tutt, County Executive's Office

Dinora A. Hernandez, Associate County Attorney

Joseph Beach, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Monica Johnson, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Amanda Conn, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Joe Mantua, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Letitia Carolina-Powell, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Anthony Poteat, Revenue Authority

Dianne Harris, Revenue Authority

Martin Harris, Department of Public Works & Transportation

Geralyn Bruce, Department of Public Works & Transportation

Fatimah Hasan, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission

Jeanine Nutter, Soil Conservation District