

Prince George's County Council

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro,
Maryland
20772-3050

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

1:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole was convened by Chair Turner at 1:33 p.m. with eleven members present.

Present 11 - Todd Turner

Monique Anderson-Walker

Derrick Davis

Thomas Dernoga

Mel Franklin

Dannielle Glaros

Sydney Harrison

Calvin S. Hawkins

Jolene Ivey

Rodney Streeter

Deni Taveras

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Candice Austin, County Executive's Office

Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer

Karen Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel

PROPOSED CORRESPONDENCE/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

LTR 02052019b Proposed joint signature lette

Proposed joint signature letter to Mr. Pete K. Rahn, Secretary, Maryland

Department of Transportation regarding 2018 Priority Projects List for the FY

2019-2024 State Consolidated Transportation Program (CTP).

Attachment(s): Transmittal Letter

2/5/2019 FY 2019-2024 CTP Letter

Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer, provided a brief overview. Candice Austin, the County Executive's Liaison to the Council, introduced Martin Harris and Victor Weissburg of the Department of Public Works and Transportation who spoke to the details of the proposed letter. The panelists responded to comments and questions posed by the Council regarding: southern Maryland light rail, MAGLEV, Central Avenue Collector Trail, Indian Head Highway, prioritization of gateway roads, connectivity of roads in Route 210 corridor, scoring process, and NEPA process.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Agenda Letter be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

ADJ11-19 ADJOURN

The Committee of the Whole concluded at 2:33 p.m

A motion was made by Council Member Anderson-Walker, seconded by Vice Chair Streeter, that this ADJOURN be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras