

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Todd M. Turner, Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, Vice Chair, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

7:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

7:00 P.M. - RECONVENE - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was reconvened by Chair Turner at 7:09 p.m. with eight members present. Council Member Harrison arrived at 7:12 p.m. Council Member Taveras arrived at 7:29 p.m.

Present: 9 - Chair Todd Turner

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Derrick Davis Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Sydney Harrison Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Jolene Ivey Vice Chair Rodney Streeter

Absent: Council Member Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Deni Taveras

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Theresa Myers, Legislative Assistant, Clerk of the Council's Office

Candice Austin, County Executive's Office

Monica Best-James, Legislative Officer

Jacqueline Brown, Director, PHED Committee

Warren Burris, Committee Assistant, PHED Committee

PUBLIC HEARING: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

CR-024-2019

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING FISCAL YEAR ("FY") 2020 ANNUAL ACTION PLAN FOR HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT for

the purpose of approving and adopting the Prince George's County Fiscal Year ("FY") 2020 Annual Action Plan for Housing and Community Development ("FY 2020 Annual Action Plan")

Sponsor(s): Harrison, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Turner, Streeter, Hawkins, G

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2019024

CR-24-2019 Attachment A

CR-24-2019 Attachment B (Plan)

CR-24-2019 Appendix C to Attachment B (Plan)

CR-24-2019 AIS

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 7:14 p.m. Chair Turner announced the presence of Estella Alexander, Acting Director of the Department of Housing and Community Development, Patricia Alexander, CDBG Program Manager and Candice Austin, Office of the County Executive. The following elected official provided verbal testimony: (* Indicates that written testimony was also submitted)
Petrella Robinson, Mayor, Town of North Brentwood *

The following interested citizens provided verbal testimony:

- 1. Gavin Brown, First Generation College Bound
- 2. Leah Paley, Director of Laurel Advocate & Referral Services *
- 3. Nadia Cole, Speaking as an Individual (unable to attend)
- 4. Anthony McAllister, Iyanna J McAllister Legacy Foundation *
- 5. Oluwafeme Richards, Elizabeth Ejekwu Charity (unable to attend)
- 6. Juan Cruz, Casa de Maryland *
- 7. Navireth Castro *
- 8. Luis Sarmiento
- 9. Roxana Reyes *

- 10. Maria Osegueda *
- 11. Monica Montgomery, Speaking as an Individual
- 12. Deja Cobbs, First Generation College Bound
- 13. Maxline Acobota, First Generation College Bound
- 14. Amya Ellis, First Generation College Bound
- 15. Kelly Atabong, First Generation College Bound
- 16. Sudana Thomas, First Generation College Bound
- 17. Jordyn Desir, First Generation College Bound
- 18. Makalia Joseph, First Generation College Bound
- 19. Donna Hurley, Housing Options & Planning Enterprise
- 20. Antoine Thompson, Housing Options & Planning Enterprise
- 21. Michael Green, Housing Options & Planning Enterprise (unable to attend)
- 22. Kim Rhim, The Training Source Inc. *
- 23. Jason Small, Town of Capitol Heights *
- 24. Sheila Craig, Laurel Advocacy & Referral Services Inc.
- 25. Dr. Beverly Sargent, District Heights Family & Youth Services Bureau *
- 26. George Sledge, Tennis Assoc. Alliance Committee (unable to attend)
- 27. Stuart Eisenberg, Executive Director, Hyattsville Community

Development Corporation

- 28. Anthony Ethelbert
- 29. Allison Oneill
- 30. Chanel Compton
- 31. Perry L. Foreman, Jr. (Did not speak)
- 32. Anthony Jackson *
- 33. Katherine Carter
- 34. Zeno W. St. Cyr, II

Chair Turner announced that this matter would be considered by the Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee on April 24, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. The public hearing concluded at 8:39 p.m.

The public hearing was held for this Resolution

ADJ37-19

Draft 1

ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Anderson-Walker, seconded by Vice Chair Streeter, that this meeting be adjourn. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye

9 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey and Streeter

Absent	Glaros and Taveras	
Prepared by:		
Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council		
Submitted by:		
Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council		