

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Todd M. Turner, Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, Vice Chair, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

7:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

7:00 P.M. - RECONVENE

The meeting was reconvened by Chair Turner at 7:08 p.m. with eight members present. Chair Turner indicated that Council Members Franklin and Harrison were out on personal and County business and that Council Member Davis would join the meeting after attending an event this evening. Council Member Davis arrived at 8:12 p.m.

Present: 8 - Chair Todd Turner

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Dannielle Glaros Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Jolene Ivey Vice Chair Rodney Streeter Council Member Deni Taveras

Absent: Council Member Derrick Davis

Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Sydney Harrison Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Jacqueline Brown, Director, PHED Committee

Turkessa Green, Deputy County Auditor

PUBLIC HEARING: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PH 04232019

Draft 1

MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION PROPOSED FISCAL YEAR 2019-2020 OPERATING AND CAPITAL BUDGETS AND THE M-NCPPC CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM FOR FISCAL YEARS 2020-2025

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing was convened at 7:12 p.m. The Honorable Kent Roberson, Member of the Democratic Central Committee, provided verbal testimony as did the following interested citizens (*indicates written testimony was also submitted):

- 1. Kent Roberson, Chairman, Parks & Recreation Advisory Board
- 2. Kristine Wallace, Individual (unable to attend)
- 3. Tunji Arojojoye, Individual (unable to attend)
- 4. Latarsha Carithers. Individual
- 5. Desiree Smith, Individual (unable to attend)
- 6. Jason Benson, Individual (unable to attend)
- 7. Eric Pray, Individual (unable to attend)
- 8. Mark Falzone, President, Park at Addison Metro HOA
- 9. George Sledge, Chair, Prince George's Tennis Association Alliance Committee *
- 10. Ronald Steele, Prince George's Tennis Association Alliance Committee
- 11. Kate Taylor Davis, Executive Director, Pyramid Atlantic
- 12. Cachea Barringer, Individual (unable to attend)
- 13. Brooke Kidd, Executive Director, Joe's Movement Emporium
- 14. Tim Coltharp, Individual (unable to attend)
- 15. Denise Stevenson, Prince George's Tennis Association Alliance Committee *
- 16. Robert Vinson, Prince George's County Tennis Association *
- 17. Lori Rousseau, Cheerleader Commissioner, Laurel Boys & Girls Club
- 18. Ronald Klein, Individual
- 19. Barbara Johnson, Executive Director, Art Works Studio School, Inc dba Art Works Now
- 20. William Stevenson, Prince George's Tennis Association Alliance Committee

- 21. Rose Greene Colby, Member, Parks & Recreation Advisory Board
- 22. Linda Thompson, Glenn Dale Citizens Association *
- 23. David Hacker, Dinosaur Park *
- 24. Kevin and Tessa Francis
- 25. Jessica Grotenhuis
- 26. Peter Klanz
- 27. Wilbert Nicholson
- 28. Linda Milligan
- 29. Addrian Rousseau
- 30. Roger E. Kaufmann
- 31. Robert E. Barton
- 32. Christine Meshard
- 33. Nichole Hanley (Did not speak)

Chair Turner announced that the M-NCPPC budget would be considered by the Committee of the Whole on Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 1:30 p.m.

This Public Hearing was held

ADJ43-19

Draft 1

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 8:26 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Council Member Glaros, to ADJOURN the meeting. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye 8 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Dernoga, Glaros, Hawkins,

Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Davis, Franklin and Harrison

Prepared by:	
Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council	
Submitted by:	

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council