

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Todd M. Turner, Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, Vice Chair, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, April 29, 2019

7:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

7:00 P.M. - RECONVENE

The meeting was called to order by Chair Turner at 7:17 p.m. with eleven members present at roll call.

Present:

11 - Chair Todd Turner

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Derrick Davis Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Mel Franklin

Council Member Dannielle Glaros Council Member Sydney Harrison

Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Jolene Ivey

Vice Chair Rodney Streeter Council Member Deni Taveras

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Theresa Myers, Legislative Assistant, Office of the Clerk

Candice Austin, County Executive's Office

Karen Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel

J. Kenneth Battle, Director, TIEE Committee

Inez Claggett, Office of Audits and Investigations

Sylvia King, Office of Audits and Investigations

Stanley Early, Director, Office of Management and Budget

PUBLIC HEARING: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PH 04292019

Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2020 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2020 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY, REVENUE AUTHORITY AND INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Pursuant to proper notice the public hearing convened at 7:18 p.m. Chair Turner provided introductory remarks and allowed each of the Council Members to introduce themselves. Chair Turner read a statement regarding the Proposed Prince George's County Fiscal Year 2020 Constant Yield Tax Rate. The following persons provided verbal testimony:

Comments by Elected Officials:

- 1. Gloria Lawlah, Former State Senator and Former Secretary of Aging, was present but declined to speak
- 2. The Honorable Shivali Shah, Council Member, City of Mount Rainier

Comments by Interested Citizens:

- 1. Carrie Stoltzsus, Executive Director, Food & Friends *
- 2. Danielle Millner, Executive Director, Community Youth Advance (unable to attend)
- 3. Mark Noblett, Individual *
- 4. Joyce Benjamin, Co-Founder and COO, Autism FYI *
- 5. Thomas Duke, Individual
- 6. Leah Paley, Laurel Advocacy & Referral Service *
- 7. Sydney Daigle, Director, Prince George's County Food Equity Council *
- 8. Tara McNerney, Program Director, Brighter Bites *
- 9. Lana Pannell, Brighter Bites

- 10. Eric Lopez, Supervising Attorney, Capital Area Immigrants Rights Coalition *
- 11. Jose Amaya Lazo, Individual
- 12. Josue Zorto Chirinos, Individual
- 13. Kelly White Capital Area Immigrants Rights Coalition (Did not speak)
- 14. Ellen Hammond, Individual
- 15. Joe Murchison, Executive Director, Side by Side *
- 16. Roxanne Neloms, Side by Side *
- 17. Gerod Blue, Community Advocacy Director, American Heart Association (unable to attend)
- 18. Peggy Higgins, Director, College Park Youth Services Bureau *
- 19. Wendy Wilcox, Director, Prince George's Youth Service Bureau Association
- 20. Beverly Sargent, Director, District Heights Youth Services Bureau
- 21. Rosalind Ceasar, Clinical Director, Laurel Helping Hands Youth Services Bureau
- 22. Liz Park, Director, Greenbelt CARES Youth Services Bureau
- 23. Lindolfo Carballo, Director, Community Economic Dev., CASA de Maryland
- 24. Jose Isreal Vasquez, Individual (unable to attend)
- 25. Donna Christy, Individual *
- 26. Elissa Kauffman, Individual *
- 27. Theresa Mitchell Dudley, President, PGCEA *
- 28. Timothy Jansen, CEO, Community Crisis Services (unable to attend)
- 29. Brooke Kidd, Executive Director, Joe's Movement Emporium
- 30. Nazarene Maloney, Creative Works Student, Joe's Movement Emporium
- 31. D'Shari Paris, Creative Works Student, Joe's Movement Emporium
- 32. Immanuel Battle, Creative Works Student, Joe's Movement Emporium
- 33. Keleai'ah Wheelan, Creative Works Student, Joe's Movement Emporium
- 34. Michael S. Dickson, II, President, Parkdale Panthers PTSA
- 35. Salvador Ayala, Individual
- 36. Hillary Lindeman, Executive Director, Non-Profit Prince George's County
- 37. Zach Newton, Individual (unable to attend)
- 38. Janna Parker, Individual
- 39. Debbie Litz Fletcher, Individual *
- 40. Kriti Maslak, Ph.D. NCSP, Individual *
- 41. Kevin ODonnell, Individual *
- 42. Alvson Harkins, Individual
- 43. Michele Clarke, Individual *
- 44. Margaret Boles, Individual *

- 45. Claudia Quinones, Individual
- 46. Nancy Leon, Individual
- 47. Mary Garcia, Individual
- 48. Jacqueline Ramos, Individual
- 49. Karene Brodie, Executive Director, Hillside Work-Scholarship Connection *
- 50. Rob Malone, Executive Director, The Arc Prince George's County *
- 51. Jim Stockton, The Arc Prince George's County
- 52. Jonathan Abraham, Secretary, Spanish Instruction Advocacy Group
- 53. Nicole Clem, Co-Chair, Spanish Instruction Advocacy Group
- 54. Kossy Beckoye, Casa de Maryland
- 55. Francois Boutaouakou, Casa de Maryland
- 56. Jacek Orzechowski, Individual
- 57. Christopher Ojo, Africans for Africa *
- 58. Patsy Connor, High Point High School PTSA *
- 59. Chanel Compton, Maryland Commission African American History & Culture (did not speak)
- 60. Monica Montgomery, Executive Director, Prince George's African American Museum & Cultural Center
- 61. Tommi Makila
- 62. Paul Rowe, Housing Authority of Prince George's County *
- 63. Julia Baltimore, Lynnalon Acres (did not speak) *
- 64. Christine Gilliard Arthur (unable to attend)
- 65. Konrad Herling, Prince George's Arts & Humanities Council
- 66. Maryann Dillon, Housing Initiative Partnership (unable to attend)
- 67. Madeleine Brown, Bowie High School (unable to attend)
- 68. Robert Antonetti, Shipley & Horne, P.A. (unable to attend)
- 69. Josephine Thomas, President, Clinton Hills Civic Association *
- 70. Hugh Thomas
- 71. Deborah Thomas
- 72. Ajora Ademu John (unable to attend)
- 73. Nancy Cannales, International High School of Langley Park

This Public Hearing was held

ADJ53-19 Draft 1

ADJOURN

Diant i

The meeting was adjourned at 10:38 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Taveras, to ADJOURN the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,

Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Prepared by:

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Submitted by:

Aye

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council