

Prince George's County Council

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Jolene Ivey, Vice Chair Mel Franklin Sydney J. Harrison Deni L. Taveras County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Co-Directors ~ Sandra Eubanks & Howard W. Stone Administrative Aide ~ Lochelle Ferguson (301) 952-4195

Wednesday, November 6, 2019		10:00 AM	Committee Hearing Room 2027
ORDER OF PROCEEDING			
CALL TO ORDER			
Present	: 3 -	Chair Calvin S. Hawki Council Member Deni	ns, Vice Chair Jolene Ivey and Taveras
Absent	: 2 -	Council Member Mel I Sydney Harrison	Franklin and Council Member
APPOINTMENTS			

<u>APPT-51-19</u>

Appointment of the following individuals to the Fire Commission for Prince George's County

J. Robert Breen Reappointment: Volunteer Member Term Expiration: 7/1/2021

Michelle A. Chandler Appointment: Sworn Member Replacing: Brian Dougherty Term Expiration: 7/1/2021

William H. King Reappointment: Volunteer Member Term Expiration: 7/1/2021

Randy S. Kuenzli Reappointment: Volunteer Member Term Expiration: 7/1/2021

A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Vice Chair Ivey, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Hawkins, Ivey and Taveras

Absent: 2 - Franklin and Harrison

<u>APPT-52-19</u>	Appointment of the following individuals to the Commission for Children, Youth and Families for Prince George's County:					
	Sharon Y. Christmas-DeBerry					
	Appointment: Citizen Member					
	Term Expiration: 12/01/2022					
	Tiffany R. Hardy					
	Appointment: Citizen Member					
	Term Expiration: 12/01/2022					
	Naomi C. Stewart					
	Appointment: Youth Member					
	Term Expiration: 12/01/2022					
	Courtney L. Wimbush					
	Appointment: Citizen Member					
	Term Expiration: 12/01/2022 A motion was made by Vice Chair Ivey, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:					
						Aye: 3 - Hawkins, Ivey and Taveras
						Absent: 2 - Franklin and Harrison
					<u>APPT-53-19</u>	Appointment of the following individuals to the Commission for Individuals with Disabilities for Prince George's County:
	Tiffany C. Harkless					
	Appointment: Public Member					
	Term Expiration: 07/01/2022					
	Toni Paster-Dupree					
	Appointment: Consumer Member					
	Term Expiration: 07/01/2022					
	A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Vice					
	Chair Ivey, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:					
	Aye: 3 - Hawkins, Ivey and Taveras					
	Absent: 2 - Franklin and Harrison					

Also Present:

Nathaniel Tutt, III, Acting Committee Director **Colette Gresham, Legislative Counsel** Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Counsel Amanda Denison, Office of Law Candice Austin, Office of the County Executive Miriam Brewer, Office of the County Executive J. Robert Breen, Fire Commission Michelle A. Chandler, Fire Commission William H. King, Fire Commission **Randy Kuenzli, Fire Commission** Elana Belon-Butler, Director, Department of Family Servies Sharon Y. Christmas-DeBerry, Commission for Children, Youth and Families Tiffany R. Hardy, Commission for Children, Youth and Families Courtney L. Wimbush, Commission for Children, Youth and Families Tiffany C. Harkless, Commission for Individuals with Disabilities Toni-Paster-Dupree, Commission for Individuals with Disabilities

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Vice Chair Ivey, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 3 - Hawkins, Ivey and Taveras

Absent: 2 - Franklin and Harrison