

## **Prince George's County Council**

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Jolene Ivey, Vice Chair Mel Franklin Sydney J. Harrison Deni L. Taveras County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Co-Directors ~ Sandra Eubanks & Howard W. Stone Administrative Aide ~ Lochelle Ferguson (301) 952-4195

Wednesday, October	: 16, 2019	10:00 AM	<b>Committee Hearing Room 2027</b>
ORDER OF PROCE	EDING		
CALL TO ORDER			
	Present: 5		ns, Vice Chair Jolene Ivey, Council Council Member Sydney Harrison veni Taveras
Other Council Memb Todd Turner	ers Present:		
<b>LEGISLATION</b>			
<u>CB-062-2019</u>	<u>AN ACT CONCERNING COMMUNITY INCLUSIVENESS</u> for the purpose of codifying the County's administrative policy that County law enforcement agencies shall not honor Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) detainers in non-criminal interactions and mandate that all County agencies shall not engage in immigration enforcement.		
	<u>Sponsor(s)</u> :		rnoga, Glaros, Davis, Streeter, nd Harrison
	<u>Attachment(s)</u> :	B2019062 CB-062-2019 AIS CB-062-2019 Report	
	A motion was n		conded by Council Member
		his Council Bill be Favorab	•
	amendments to	the County Council. The n	notion carried by the following
Prince George's County Council		Page 1	

vote:

Aye: 5 - Hawkins, Ivey, Franklin, Harrison and Taveras

#### **APPOINTMENTS**

### <u>APPT-36-19</u> Appointment of the following individuals to the Board of Social Services for Prince George's County:

Ms. Audrey B. Chase Appointment Replacing: Ms. Kimberly E. Cole Term Expiration:6/30/2022

Ms. Dorothy E. Duppins Appointment Replacing:Vacant Term Expiration: 6/30/2022

Dr. Remilekun A. Duyile Appointment Replacing: Ms. Valerie A. Farrar Term Expiration: 6/30/2022

Ms. Delores A. Furman Appointment Replacing: Ms. Theressa A. Green Term Expiration: 6/30/2021

Dr. Shirley R. Newton-Guest Appointment Replacing: Vacant Term Expiration: 6/30/2021

Ms. Wanda D. Smith Appointment Replacing: Mr. Keith N. Singletary Term Expiration: 6/30/2021

Mr. Kenneth L. White Appointment Replacing: Vacant Term Expiration: 6/30/2022

	Mr. Samuel L. Williams			
	Reappointment Term Expiration: 6/30/2021			
	A motion was made by Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:			
	Aye: 4 - Hawkins, Ivey, Harrison and Taveras			
	Absent: 1 - Franklin			
<u>APPT-38-19</u>	Appointment of the following individuals to the Citizen Complaint Oversight Panel for Prince George's County:			
	Kelvin D. Davall			
	Appointment			
	Replacing: Mary Godfrey			
	Term Expiration: 1/8/2022			
	Llamilet Gutierrez, Esq. (withdrawn)			
	Appointment			
	Replacing: Cardell Montague			
	Term Expiration: 1/8/2023			
	James T. Rice (unable to attend)			
	Appointment			
	Replacing: Michael Doaks			
	Term Expiration: 1/8/2022			
	Marsha A. Ridley			
	Appointment			
	Replacing: Blanco "Skip" High			
	Term Expiration: 1/8/2023			
	Daniel C. Vergamini			
	Appointment			
	Replacing: Dale Crowell Term Expiration: 1/2/2023 A motion was made by Vice Chair Ivey, seconded by Council Member			
				Taveras, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:
		Aye: 4 - Hawkins, Ivey, Harrison and Taveras		
	Absent: 1 - Franklin			

<u>APPT-39-19</u>	Appointment of the following individuals to the Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys for Prince George's County:
	Chike U. Aguh
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2020
	James M. Alsobrooks
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2021
	James C. Ballentine
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2022
	Arthur L. Cutler, II
	Appointment
	Term Expiration:10/31/2020
	Bruce D. Edwards
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2021
	Allan G. Herring
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2022
	Robert L. Johnson
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2020
	Jospeh E. Jones, Sr.
	Appointment/Chair
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2021
	Christopher A. Kelly
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2022
	Anthony J. McAllister
	Appointment
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2020

	David B. Owens		
	Appointment		
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2021		
	Michael O. Williams		
	Appointment		
	Term Expiration: 10/31/2022		
	A motion was made by Chair Hawkins, seconded by Vice Chair Ivey, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:		
	Aye: 5 - Hawkins, Ivey, Franklin, Harrison and Taveras		
<b>BRIEFING</b>			
BR 10162019b	Prince George's Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council		
	This Briefing was Cancelled		
BR 10162019c	Prince George's County Mental Health Task Force		
	This Briefing was Cancelled		

**Other's Present:** Nathaniel Tutt, III, Acting Committee Director Colette Gresham, Esq., Legislative Officer Leroy Maddox, Esq., Legislative Officer **Candice Austin, OCEX** Amanda Denison, Esq., OOL Lochelle Ferguson, Administrative Aide **Edwin Brown, Administrative Assistant** Hector Velez, Assistant Chief, PGCPD Major William Alexander, PGCPD Audrey B. Chase, Board of Social Services **Dorothy E. Duppins, Board of Social Services Remilekun A. Duyile, Board of Social Services Delores A. Furman, Board of Social Services** Shirley R. Newton-Guest, Board of Social Services Wanda D. Smith, Board of Social Services Kenneth L. White, Board of Social Services Samuel L. Williams, Board of Social Services Kelvin D. Davall, Citizens Complaint Oversight Panel James T. Rice, Citizens Complaint Oversight Panel Marsha A. Ridley, Citizens Complaint Oversight Panel Daniel C. Vergamini, Citizens Complaint Oversight Panel Chike U. Aguh, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys James M. Alsobrooks, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys James C. Ballentine, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys Arthur L. Cutler, II, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys Allan G. Herring, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys Robert L. Johnson, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys Joseph E. Jones, Sr., Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys Christopher A. Kelly, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys Anthony J. McAllister, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys Michael O. Williams, Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys

#### **ADJOURN**