

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

11:30 AM

Council Hearing Room

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Turner conved the Committee of the Whole at 11:56 a.m. with 11 Members present.

Present

11 - Todd Turner

Monique Anderson-Walker

Derrick Davis
Thomas Dernoga
Mel Franklin
Dannielle Glaros
Sydney Harrison
Calvin S. Hawkins

Jolene Ivey Rodney Streeter Deni Taveras

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Acting Clerk
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Kathleen H. Canning, Legislative Officer
Jackie Brown, Director, PHED Committee
Nathaniel Tutt, III, HHSPS Committee
Candice Austin, Office of the County Executive
Amanda Dennison, Office of Law
Joseph Ruddy, Office of Law

APPOINTMENTS

APPT-42-19 Draft 1 Appointment of the following individuals to the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission for Prince George's County:

Ms. Dorothy F. Bailey

Reappointment

Term Expiration: 6/15/2023

William M. Doerner, Ph.D

Reappointment

Term Expiration: 6/15/2022

Attachment(s): M-NCPPC Appointments - Report

Miriam Brewer, Appointments Liaison, Office of the County Executive, introduced the nominees to the Committee and spoke to their character and credentials. Ms. Bailey, a resident of Temple Hills, has provided more than 30 years of service to the residents of Prince George's County including Council Member for Council District 7. Dr. Doerner, is a resident of Hyattsville, and a member of the City of Hyattsville Planning Committee and currently works for the Federal Housing Finance Agency as a Senior Economist. Additionally, the Chair noted that the term expiration for Mr. Doerner should be reflected as June 15, 2022.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Anderson-Walker, that these Appointments be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

LEGISLATION

Panelists present:

- Tara H. Jackson, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Government Operations, Office of the County Executive
- Joseph C. Ruddy, Deputy County Attorney, Office of Law
- Michelle D. Lyons, Coordinator and Chair, Telecommunications Transmission Facility Coordinating Committee
- Gwendolyn T. Clerkley, Deputy Director, Department of Public Works & Transportation
- Calisa M. Smith, Special Assistant to the Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Government Operations, Office of the County Executive
- Debra S. Borden, Principal Counsel, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission

CB-058-2019 Draft 1 <u>AN ACT CONCERNING SMALL WIRELESS FACILITIES</u> for the purpose of authorizing and regulating the installation and implementation of certain small wireless telecommunications facilities in the County.

Attachment(s): B2019058

<u>CB-058-2019 AIS</u> <u>CB-058-2019 Report</u>

Ms. Tara Jackson, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Government Operations provided an overview of the amendments included in the Proposed Draft 2 of CB-58-2019 as follows:

- 1. Definitions of Minor Antenna and Protected Area
- 2. Membership of the TTFCC
- 3. Application fees
- 4. Notice Requirements
- 5. Location
- 6. Waivers
- 7. Municipal Ordinances

The Panelists responded to questions posed by Council Members regarding the need to add a definition for the word "batch", removal requirements, notice requirement to add diagonally across the street, regulations for municipalities to report to the TFFCC, third party vendors, fees, application process timeline, definition of "acceptance". Mr. Guy Andes, Government Affairs Manager Water, WSSC, provided verbal comments and requested that WSSC receive notification and be involved in the review process. After much discussion, the Committee was prepared to vote on the Proposed Draft

2 with some additional revisions.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Dernoga, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Dernoga, Glaros, Hawkins, Ivey

and Streeter

Absent: Davis, Franklin, Harrison and Taveras

<u>ADJ111-19</u>

ADJOURN

Draft 1

The meeting adjourned at 1:24 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Vice Chair Streeter, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Dernoga, Glaros, Hawkins, Ivey

and Streeter

Absent: Davis, Franklin, Harrison and Taveras