

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Todd M. Turner, Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

11:30 AM

Council Hearing Room

11:30 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order at 11:46 a.m. with eleven members present at roll call.

Present:

11 - Chair Todd Turner

Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Member Derrick Davis
Member Thomas Dernoga
Member Mel Franklin
Member Dannielle Glaros
Member Sydney Harrison
Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Member Jolene Ivey Member Rodney Streeter Member Deni Taveras Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant Colette R. Gresham, Legislative Officer Howard W. Stone, Director, GOFP Committee Tia Holmes, Office of the County Executive

INVOCATION:

The Invocation was provided by Reverend Ray Raysor, County Employee. Council Member Glaros requested prayer for her mother in law as she is having surgery this morning. Council Member Taveras asked that prayers be offered for the family and community in the loss of former Mayor Tom Bass, City of Hyattsville and also for the loss of Mr. Barry Frances who played an integral part in the growth of the Route 1 Corridor. Mr. Turner requested prayer for civility in the County and the nation.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Anderson-Walker.

REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

There were no requests.

BUSINESS MEETING

1. REMARKS BY THE 2019 COUNCIL CHAIR

Chair Turner acknowledged the following elected officials and former elected officials present for today's meeting: State's Attorney Aisha Braveboy, Delegate Julian Ivey, Board of Education Vice Chair Edward

Burroughs, III and former Council Chair Camille Exum.

Chair Turner thanked his Vice Chair, Rodney C. Streeter for his leadership and partnership over the last year and presented him with a plaque recognizing a job well done. Council Member Rodney Streeter thanked the Chair for the opportunity to serve as his Vice Chair and presented him with a plaque recognizing his outstanding leadership.

2. ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2020 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

CHAIR1-2020

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 3, 2019 TO DECEMBER 1, 2020.

A motion was made by Member Davis, seconded by Member Glaros, that Council Member Todd M.Turner be elected as Chair for the 2020 Legislative Year. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

<u>VICE1-2020</u>

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL VICE CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 3, 2019 TO DECEMBER 1, 2020.

A motion was made by Member Taveras, seconded by Member Harrison, that Calvin S. Hawkins, II be elected as Vice Chair for the 2020 Legislative Year. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

3. EXCHANGE OF GAVEL

4. REMARKS BY INCOMING 2020 COUNCIL CHAIR

Mr. Turner expressed that it is been his privilege and honor to have served as Council Chair for the 2019 Legislative Year and is grateful and humbled to be entrusted with the Council's gavel of leadership for the 2020 Legislative Year. The Chair congratulated and thanked County Executive Angela Alsobrooks for her strong leadership and solid vision. Mr. Turner again gave a special thank you Council Member Streeter for his partnership, leadership, contributions, commitment and unique insite. The Chair spoke to the many accomplishments achieved during 2019 and highlighted the goals for the upcoming year.

The Chair congratulated the newly appointed Clerk of the Council, Donna J. Brown and thanked her for seamlessly stepping in to provide support to the Council. He also thanked his family, his District 4 staff and the entire staff of the Legislative Branch. Announcement was made that the anticipated first District Council Session of 2020 will be on Monday, January, 6, 2020 and the anticipated first County Council Session of 2020 will be Tuesday, January 7, 2020.

Prior to adjournment, Council Members provided the following MACo Winter Conference announcements: Council Member Taveras's Conversation on the Census, Council Member Anderson-Walker on #DrivingItHome, Council Member Franklin's Large County Coalition discussion on the Kirwan Commission Funding Formula Challenges.

ADJ133-19 Draft 1

<u>ADJOURN</u>

The meeting adjourned at 12:21 p.m.

A motion was made by Member Davis, seconded by Member Anderson-Walker, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Prepared by:
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council