

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Todd M. Turner, Council Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

2:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

12:30 P.M. - AGENDA BRIEFING - (ROOM 2027)

The Agenda Briefing commenced at 12:45 p.m. Due to a lack of a quorum of members, a public statement was read and the Agenda Briefing was conducted as an informal discussion in lieu of a public meeting. The following Members were present: Council Chair Todd M. Turner, Council Vice Chair Calvin Hawkins, and Council Members Rodney Streeter, Jolene Ivey and Monique Anderson-Walker.

1:00 P.M. - COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

(SEE SEPARATE MINUTES)

2:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Todd M. Turner at 2:01 p.m. with eleven Members present at roll call.

Present: 11 - Chair Todd Turner

Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Member Derrick Davis
Member Thomas Dernoga
Member Mel Franklin
Member Dannielle Glaros
Member Sydney Harrison
Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Member Jolene Ivey Member Rodney Streeter Member Deni Taveras

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Leroy D. Maddox, Legislative Officer
J. Kenneth Battle, Jr., Director, TIEE & General Assembly Committees
Terry Bell, Office of the County Executive
Amanda Denison, Office of Law

INVOCATION:

The Invocation was provided by Reverend Terence D. Collins, M.A., Member, Westphalia United Methodist Church, Upper Marlboro, Maryland. Council Member Anderson-Walker recognized Delta Signa Theta Sorority, Inc.; Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. and Beta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. all celebrating Founders' Day this week and all sororities of Howard University. Ms. Anderson-Walker requested prayer in recognition of her daughter's admission to the Howard University Medical School and noted that her daughter is a 6th generation Howard University attendee. Council Member Franklin requested prayer for Council Member Derrick Leon Davis in his position as 2020 Chair of the Council of Governments (COG).

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pedge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Dernoga.

REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

There were no requests.

BUSINESS MEETING

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(a) Approval of County Council Minutes

MIN 01072020 County Council Minutes dated January 7, 2020.

These Council Minutes were approved.

Consent2-20 MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Member Harrison, seconded by Member Davis, that the Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

2. CONSIDERATION OF ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

No items were considered.

3. 2:00 P.M. - PUBLIC HEARING: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

APPT-1-20

Appointment of the following individual as the District 4 Representative to the Board of Education for Prince George's County:

Mr. Bryan M. Swann

Pursuant to proper notice the public hearing was convened at 2:08 p.m. Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer provided a verbal report of the actions and recommendations of the Committee. Ms. Miriam Brewer, Appointments Liaison, introduced the nominee to the Council on behalf of the County Executive and spoke to his character and credentials. Mr. Swann was present and spoke on his on behalf. There were no additional speakers. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held.

This public hearing was held.

4. PROPOSED CORRESPONDENCE/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

LTR 01142020

Draft 1

Proposed letter to the Honorable Angela D. Alsobrooks, Prince George's County Executive, regarding the Prince George's County Executive's appointment of Bryan M. Swann as the District 4 Representative to the Prince George's Board of Education pursuant to State law.

Attachment(s): **BOE District 4 Representative Letter**

A motion was made by Member Glaros, seconded by Member Ivey, that this Agenda Letter be authorized for Chair's signature. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

LTR 01072020

Draft 2

Proposed joint letter to the Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor, the Honorable William C. "Bill" Ferguson, IV, Senate President and the Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker of the House transmitting the County's State Legislative Priorities for the 2020 General Assembly Session.

Attachment(s): Final Legislative Priorities Letter

J. Kenneth Battle, Jr., Director of the General Assembly Committee, provided the Council with a verbal report of the actions and recommendations of the Committee of the Whole.

A motion was made by Member Harrison, seconded by Member Davis,

that this Agenda Letter be authorized for Chair's signature. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

Council Member Glaros acknowledged Mr. Arrington Lancaster, University of Maryland Student working in her District 3 office as an Intern.

ADJ2-20 ADJOURN

Motion was made by Council Member Harrison; seconded by Council Member Davis to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 2:21 p.m.

2:30 P.M. - DISTRICT COUNCIL ITEMS - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

(SEE SEPARATE MINUTES)

3:30 P.M. - COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE (CONTINUED) - (ROOM 2027)

(SEE SEPARATE MINUTES)

Prepared by:	
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant	
Submitted by:	
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council	