

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Todd M. Turner, Council Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

12:30 PM

Council Hearing Room

9:30 A.M. - AGENDA BRIEFING - (ROOM 2027)

The Agenda Briefing commenced at 9:46 a.m. Due to a lack of a quorum of members, a public statement was read and the Agenda Briefing was conducted as an informal discussion in lieu of a public meeting. Council Chair Turner and Council Members Glaros and Anderson-Walker were present.

10:00 A.M. - GENERAL ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE MEETING - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

(SEE SEPARATE MINUTES)

11:30 A.M. - COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

(SEE SEPARATE MINUTES)

12:30 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Turner at 1:01 p.m. with 10 members present at roll call. Council Member Glaros arrived at 1:03 p.m.

Present:

11 - Council Chair Todd Turner

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Derrick Davis
Council Member Thomas Dernoga
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Dannielle Glaros
Council Member Sydney Harrison
Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins
Council Member Jolene Ivey
Council Member Rodney Streeter
Council Member Deni Taveras

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Kathleen H. Canning, Legislative Officer
J. Kenneth Battle, Jr., Director, TIEE & General Assembly Committees
Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive
Amanda Denison, Office of Law

INVOCATION:

Invocation was provided by Howard W. Stone, County Employee. Council Member Davis requested prayer for the family of Lela Robinson in her passing and for her Wilburn Estates Community. Council Vice Chair Hawkins asked for prayers for the families of Kobe Bryant and his daughter Gianna and the others who tragically lost their lives in the Sunday's helicopter crash. Mr. Hawkins also requested prayers for the individual who lost his life while in police custody and for the men and women in law enforcement. Council Member Taveras asked for prayer for the family of Morgan Wooten, long time coach at DeMatha High School, in his passing. Council Member Harrision asked for hope and prayer for Raymond Butler and his family in the loss of his sister. Council Chair Turner asked for prayer for the family of Billy Owens Smith who was fatally stabbed while defending himself and his household during a robbery at his home. Council Member Anderson-Walker asked that prayer be offered for the family of Dr. Floyd Malveaux, Former Dean, Howard University College of Medicine, in his recent passing.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Dernoga.

REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

Ms. Terri Allen, Executive Director, Coalition for African Americans in the Performing Arts (CAAPA) addressed the Council. Miss Layla El Amin accompanied Ms. Allen and performed a violin selection to demonstrate her talent as a classical musician. Dr. Debra Mahone, CAAPA also addressed the Council. Ms. Valeria Boykin spoke to crime in her Fort Washington neighborhood. Ms. Amy Pergosky spoke in reference to breed specific legislation.

BUSINESS MEETING

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(a) Approval of County Council Minutes

MIN 01142020 County Council Minutes dated January 14, 2020.

These Council Minutes were approved.

MIN 01212020 County Council Minutes dated January 21, 2020.

These Council Minutes were approved.

Consent3-20 MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Member Davis, seconded by Member Dernoga, that this Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 8 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros,

Harrison, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Franklin, Hawkins and Ivey

2. CONSIDERATION OF ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

There were no items considered.

3. PROPOSED CORRESPONDENCE/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

LTR 01282020a

Draft 1

Proposed joint signature letter to Mr.Gregory Slater, Acting Secretary, Maryland Department of Transportation regarding 2020 Priority Projects List for the FY 2020-2025 State Consolidated Transportation Program (CTP).

Attachment(s): Transportation Priorities Letter Final

No action was taken at this time.

LTR 01282020b

Draft 1

Proposed letter to the Honorable Joanne C. Benson, Chair, Prince George's County Senate Delegation and the Honorable Erek L. Barron, Chair, Prince George's County House Delegation transmitting the position of the Prince George's County Council on proposed State legislation.

Attachment(s): Delegation Position Letter (1-28-20)

A motion was made by Member Davis, seconded by Member Glaros, that this Agenda Letter be authorized for Chair's signature. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,

Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Hawkins

PROPOSED CORRESPONDENCE/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER'S REPORT - (continued)

LTR 01282020c

Draft 1

Proposed letter to the Honorable Angela D. Alsobrooks, County Executive, transmitting the County Council's Legislative Calendar and Appointments Schedule for 2020.

Attachment(s): 2020 Long Range Calendar Letter

2020 Long Range Calendar (Approved)

A motion was made by Member Dernoga, seconded by Member Harrison, that this Agenda Letter be authorized for Chair's signature. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,

Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Hawkins

ADJ7-20 ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 1:43 p.m.

A motion was made by Member Davis, seconded by Member Anderson-Walker, that meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

1:00 P.M. - DISTRICT COUNCILSESSION - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

(SEE SEPARATE MINUTES)

repared by:	
Γheresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant	
Submitted by:	
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council	_