

Prince George's County Council

Report of the Standing Committee - Final General Assembly Committee

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro,
Maryland
20772-3050

Derrick L. Davis, Chair Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair Mel Franklin Jolene Ivey Todd M. Turner

Director ~ J. Kenneth Battle, Jr. Staff ~ Edwin H. Brown, Jr. (301) 952-3758

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

12:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 12:16 p.m. with 3 members present at roll call. Council Member Franklin arrived at 12:23 p.m. and Council Member Taveras arrived at 1:32 p.m.

Present 5 - Council Chair Derrick Leon Davis
Vice Chair Deni L. Taveras
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Jolene Ivey
Council Member Todd M. Turner

LAW ENFORCEMENT

SB 852 (Patterson) Prince George's County – Appointment of Board of License Commissioners – Legislative Oversight

SUPPORT

STATEWIDE

HB 1300/ SB 1000 – Blueprint for Maryland's Future

HB 747/ SB 933 – State and Local Procurement – Payment Practices (HGO-3/3)

HB 731 – Purple Line Light Rail Project – Excess Property – Donation (E&T-2/21)

HB 1236 – Transit - Maryland Area Regional Commuter Train - Expansion of Service (E&T-3/5)

HB 1628 - Sales and Use Tax - Rate Reduction and Services (W&M-3/2)

HB 1249 – I-495 and I-270 Public-Private Partnership – Partnership Agreement – Requirements (Maryland State Department of Transportation Promises Act of 2020) (E&T-3/5)

HB 1424 – Public-Private Partnerships – Process and Oversight (E&T-3/5)

SB 934/ HB 660 – Baltimore City and Prince George's County – Lifeline Low-Cost Automobile Insurance Program

LOCAL BILL UPDATES

MACO UPDATES

GENERAL ASSEMBLY UPDATES

ADJOURN

adjourned

Other council Members Present: Council Members Franklin, Ivey, Traverse and Hawkins Also present:

Robert W. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Donna Brown Clerk of the Council

Monica Best-James, Legislative Officer

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Darrell Carrington, Carrington and Associates, LLC

Leigh Williams, Consultant

David A. Jacobs, Consultant

Hayley Evans, Evans and Associates, LLC

Terry Bell, County Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive

Colette R. Gresham, Legislative Officer

Sakinda L. Skinner, Legislative Officer

Other council Members Present: Council Members Franklin, Ivey, Traverse and Hawkins

Also present:

Robert W. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Donna Brown Clerk of the Council

Monica Best-James, Legislative Officer

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Darrell Carrington, Carrington and Associates, LLC

Leigh Williams, Consultant

David A. Jacobs, Consultant

Hayley Evans, Evans and Associates, LLC

Terry Bell, County Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive

Colette R. Gresham, Legislative Officer

Sakinda L. Skinner, Legislative Officer