

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Todd M. Turner, Council Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, March 3, 2020

12:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

10:30 A.M. - GENERAL ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

(SEE SEPARATE MINUTES)

12:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Turner at 12:18 p.m. with 11 members present at roll call.

Present: 11 - Council Chair Todd Turner

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Derrick Davis
Council Member Thomas Dernoga
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Dannielle Glaros
Council Member Sydney Harrison
Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins
Council Member Jolene Ivey
Council Member Rodney Streeter

Council Member Deni Taveras

Prince George's County Council

Also present:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Colette R. Gresham, Legislative Officer
Kathleen H. Canning, Legislative Officer
Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive
Sakinda L. Skinner, Office of Law

The Invocation was provided by Pastor Krishnan Natesan, Love AME Church, Largo, Maryland. Council Member Davis requested prayer for the family of Mildred Ridgley-Gray in her passing. Council Member Hawkins asked that prayer be offered for Mr. Bill Shipp, Zoning Attorney, while recovering from a serious bicycle accident. Council Member Anderson-Walker asked for prayer in supporting Delegate Jay Walker through his current trials. Council Member Franklin requested prayer for the visiting students from the Accokeek Academy. Council Chair Turner asked that we keep the employees of legislative branch in prayer while dealing with health and personal issues and expressed appreciation for all that they do.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Hawkins

REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

Pat Fletcher, President of the Board, Village Green Mutual Homes, Inc. addressed the Council regarding redevelopment opportunities. Mr. Sharif Shafi, Freedom Fighters of the DMV, regarding reparations. Ms. Lois Staves addressed the Council regarding the I3S Foundation. Mr. Henock Wogderse, GCAPDA, spoke regarding the exclusion of County based business in awarding contracts.

LEGISLATIVE DAY NO. 6

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(a) Approval of County Council Minutes

MIN 02252020

Draft 1

County Council Minutes dated February 25, 2020.

These County Council Minutes were approved.

(b) Introduction of Resolutions

CR-007-2020

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE CLIMATE ACTION PLAN for the purpose of declaring the intent of the Prince George's County Council (the "County Council") to establish a Climate Action Commission (the "Commission") to develop a Climate Action Plan for Prince George's County.

Sponsor(s): Dernoga, Ivey, Glaros, Taveras, Franklin, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Harrison, Hawkins, Streeter and Turner

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2020007

CR-007-2020 AIS

This Resolution declares the intent of the Prince George's County Council to take immediate steps to revise, update and finalize a Climate Action Plan to prepare for and build resilience to regional climate change impacts, and to achieve the 2050 climate stabilization goal by re-establishing the Prince George's County Sustainability Action Group.

This Resolution was introduced by Council Members Dernoga, Ivey, Glaros, Taveras, Anderson-Walker, Streeter, Davis, Harrison, Turner and Hawkins and referred to the Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee.

2. CONSIDERATION OF ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

There were no items considered.

Consent8-20

Draft 1

MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros,

Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Franklin

3. PROPOSED CORRESPONDENCE/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

LTR 03032020

Draft 1

Proposed letter to the Honorable Joanne C. Benson, Chair, Prince George's County Senate Delegation and the Honorable Erek L. Barron, Chair, Prince George's County House Delegation transmitting the position of the Prince George's County Council on proposed State legislation.

Attachment(s): Delegation Position Letter (3 3 2020)

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this Agenda Letter be authorized for Chair's signature. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros,

Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Franklin

4. INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF RESOLUTIONS

CR-008-2020 Draft 1 A RESOLUTION CONCERNING FIXING AMERICA'S SURFACE

<u>TRANSPORTATION ACT</u> "FAST ACT" for the purpose of urging Congress to reform our Nation's transportation system by amending the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act, (the "FAST Act"), and generally relating to supporting selected revisions to the current Federal transportation program.

Sponsor(s): Glaros, Dernoga, Franklin, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter, Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Harrison and Taveras

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2020008

CR-008-2020 AIS

This Resolution is to urge Congress to reform our Nation's transportation system by amending the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act, (the "FAST Act"). The focus of this Resolution is to urge Congress to make revisions that prioritize maintenance, design for safety over speed, and connect people to jobs and services.

This Resolution was introduced by Council Members Glaros, Dernoga, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter, Turner, Davis, Harrison, Taveras and Anderson-Walker.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Ivey, that this Resolution be amended (1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros,

Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Franklin

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Ivey, that the County Council Rules of Procedure be suspended to allow for the immediate adoption of this Resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros,

Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Franklin

A motion was made by Council Member Ivey, seconded by Council Member Davis, that Draft 2 of this Resolution be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros,

Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Absent Franklin

ADJ16-20

ADJOURN

Draft 1

A motion was made by Vice Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote. The meeting adjourned at 12:52 p.m.

1:00 P.M. - COUNCIL RETREAT FOLLOWUP - (ROOM 2027)

Prepared by:
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council