

## **Prince George's County Council**

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

# **Meeting Minutes - Final County Council**

Todd M. Turner, Council Chair, District 4
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, May 11, 2020

5:00 PM

**Virtual Meeting** 

#### VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

#### 5:00 P.M. - RECONVENE

The meeting reconvened at 5:13 p.m. with eleven members present.

Present:

11 - Council Chair Todd Turner

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Derrick Davis Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Dannielle Glaros Council Member Sydney Harrison Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins Council Member Jolene Ivey Council Member Rodney Streeter

Council Member Deni Taveras

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Leonard D. Moses, Zoning Assistant

Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer

Karen T. Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel

Monica Best-James, Legislative Officer

David Van Dyke, County Auditor

Turkessa Green, Deputy County Auditor

Stanley A. Earley, Director OMB

Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison

Amanda Dennison, Associate County Attorney

Maria Fabara Nunez, Interpreter (Spanish)

Nancy Fabara, Interpreter (Spanish)

Sign Language Interpreter (Roslyn)

Sign Language Interpreter (Carl)

#### **PUBLIC HEARING:**

## PH 05112020

Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2021 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2021 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s): Chairman Speech CYTR and Chart

### **HEARING PROCEDURES:**

A time limit of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. A tone will sound indicating that no time remains. Your cooperation in immediately concluding your remarks will be very much appreciated. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony using the Council's eComments portal at pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: ClerkoftheCouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Testimony and comments will not be accepted via social media, by telephone/voicemail

message or U.S. mail. Comments must be received by 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 12, 2020 and should be addressed to:

The Honorable Todd M. Turner, Council Chair Prince George's County Council County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772

Pursuant to proper notice, the virtual meeting convened at 5:13 p.m. The Council Chair welcomed everyone participating in the virtual meeting under the current state of emergency and pursuant to CR-10-2020. It was also noted that sign language and Spanish interpreters were available at this public hearing. Mr. Turner then read for the record, a statement with regard to the Prince George's County Fiscal Year 2021 Constant Yield Tax rate. The following persons provided verbal testimony (\* indicates that written testimony was submitted):

#### HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Introductory Remarks by County Council Chair Turner
- (b) Introduction of County Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials:
- 1. The Honorable Timothy Adams, Mayor, City of Bowie \* (unable to attend)
- 2. The Honorable Patrick Wojahn, Mayor, City of College Park
- (d) Comments by Interested Citizens:
- 1. Marcal Graham
- 2. Dr. Jerry Lewis
- 3. Sydney Daigle
- 4. Chanel Compton
- 5. Corey Lazar \*
- 6. Marva Jo Camp \*
- 7. Joe Murchison \*
- 8. James Benjamin
- 9. Lupi Grady
- 10. Adam LaRose
- 11. Allie ONeill

- 12. Tiffany Turner-Allen
- 13. Eleni Bakst
- 14. John Paukstis
- 15. Brooke Kidd
- 16. Jojo Annobil
- 17. Aaron Marcavitch
- 18. Chloe Waterman
- 19. Donna Wilson
- 20. Maya Davis
- 21. Timothy Adams (elected official)
- 22. Ana Rosas \*
- 23. Patricia Hayes-Parker
- 24. Pat Jackson
- 25. Maria Gomez \*
- 26. Will Smith \*
- 27. William Anthony
- 28. Margaret Boles
- 29. Theresa Dudley \*
- 30. Thomas Duke \*
- 31. Chrystie Lynch
- 32. Donna Christy
- 33. Suzanne Windsor
- 34. Preston Mears
- 35. Lisa Smith
- 36. Jean Crowder Drummond
- 37. Carol Makoane
- 38. Eric Lopez
- 39. Herber Campos
- 40. Sequaya Tasker
- 41. Monica Chica
- 42. Robert Ponichtera
- 43. Gail Addison
- 44. Catalina Sol
- 45. Harriet Komlatse
- 46. Jennifer Iverson \*
- 47. Radha Muthiah
- 48. Ruby Stemmle
- 49. Maryann Dillon
- 50. Patrick Wojahn (elected official)
- 51. Michael J. Wilson
- 52. Felixberto Lazaro

- 53. Mario Gamboa \*
- 54. Pablo Ordóñez (accompanied Mr.Gamboa/did not speak)
- 55. Santos León (accompanied Mr.Gamboa/did not speak)
- 56. Gloria Alvarez (accompanied Mr.Gamboa/did not speak)
- 57. Emilio Velàsquez (technical dfficulties/did not speak)
- 58. Jean Drummond (duplicate)
- 59. Gustavo Torres (unable to attend)
- 60. Mark Trader \*
- 61. Jeramie Jordan
- 62. Brent Swinton
- 63. Dr. William A. Welch, Sr.
- 64. Michelle Clarke

Testimony concluded at 8:47 p.m. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Council Chair Turner indicated that comments will be accepted until 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 12, 2020. Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer, read for the record potential Capital Improvement Program projects under consideration by the Council, pursuant to Section 809 of the Charter.

#### **ADJOURN**

Prepared by:

The meeting adjourned at 9:06 p.m.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Davis, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

1 2
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council