

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Todd M. Turner, Council Chair, District 4 Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8 Derrick Leon Davis, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large **Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3** Sydney J. Harrison, District 9 Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair, At-Large Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, March 17, 2020	12:00 PM	Council Hearing Room
RECONVENE		

ECUNVENE

The meeting reconvened at 2:41 p.m. with 11 members present. Council Members Dernoga, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras were present via Skype or call.

Present:	11 - Council Chair Todd Turner
	Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker
	Council Member Derrick Davis
	Council Member Thomas Dernoga
	Council Member Mel Franklin
	Council Member Dannielle Glaros
	Council Member Sydney Harrison
	Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins
	Council Member Jolene Ivey
	Council Member Rodney Streeter
	Council Member Deni Taveras

Add26-20 MOTION TO ACCEPT ADDITION TO THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Vice Chair Hawkins, to accept the additions package. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF RESOLUTIONS

<u>CR-010-2020</u> Draft 1

AN EMERGENCY RESOLUTION CONCERNING EMERGENCY OPERATIONS-PUBLIC MEETINGS, SESSIONS, AND HEARINGS for the purpose of postponement of County Council actions, providing for alternative

purpose of postponement of County Council actions, providing for alternative public participation for meetings that are required to be held, and operations necessitated by the Coronavirus ("COVID-19") public health emergency.

Sponsor(s): Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>R2020010</u> <u>CR-010-2020 AIS</u>

This Emergency Resolution provides:

• That all public meetings, sessions and hearings of the Prince George's County Council sitting as the District Council, Zoning Hearing Examiner, and Board of Appeals are stayed for a period of sixty (60) days or until such time as the statewide emergency is lifted; and

• That the time within which any individual, agency or official must submit a recommendation and/or response to the Prince George's County Council sitting as the District Council, Zoning Hearing Examiner, or Board of Appeals for their consideration at said public meetings, sessions and hearings, is stayed for a period of sixty (60) days or until such time as the statewide emergency is lifted.

• That this shall suspend, toll, extend or otherwise grant relief from time deadlines, requirements, or expirations in the Prince George's County Code, including Subtitle 27, where there is no practical ability of a party subject to such deadline, requirement, or expiration, to comply or seek other relief.

• That pursuant to Section 317 of the Prince George's County Charter, in the event of an emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to provisions of State law, which emergency affects any part or all of Prince George's County, and there is an emergent issue which precludes a Council meeting, the Council Chair or Vice Chair, in the Chair's absence, is authorized, upon advice and consent of a majority of the full Council, to modify the voting, quorum, and publication requirements consistent with State law, as necessary to respond to the emergency.

• That in order to address the public emergency and in light of the County Charter, in the event a public meeting, session, or hearing is mandated by law and cannot be continued, or is necessary for the continuity of government operations, the Council may provide for alternative public participation to include remote teleconferencing to address the emergency.

This Resolution was introduced by Council Members Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras.

Karen Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel, provided an overview of the provisions of the legislation. Council Member Dernoga requested the document be emailed to Council Members attending remotely. The Resolution was provided as requested.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Vice Chair Hawkins, that the Council Rules of Procedure be suspended to allow for the immediate adoption of this Resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye11 -Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,
Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

A motion was made by Vice Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this Resolution be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

Chair Turner commented on the legislation undertaken by the Council and spoke about the impact of the pandemic, ways to stay safe, communication efforts and provided operational instructions to County residents.

ADJ23-20 ADJOURN

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this meeting be adjourned. The meeting adjourned at 2:58 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye11 -Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,
Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Prepared by:

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council