

# **Prince George's County Council**

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

# Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

2:00 PM

(VIRTUAL MEETING)

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

### **ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:**

## 2:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Turner at 2:00 p.m. with eleven members present.

Present

11 - Todd Turner

Monique Anderson-Walker

Derrick Davis
Thomas Dernoga
Mel Franklin
Dannielle Glaros
Sydney Harrison
Calvin S. Hawkins

Jolene Ivey Rodney Streeter Deni Taveras

#### **LEGISLATION**

CR-050-2020 Draft 1 A RESOLUTION CONCERNING FY 2020-2029 COMPREHENSIVE TEN YEAR SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT PLAN for the purpose of adopting the Prince George's County FY 2020-2029 Ten Year Solid Waste Management Plan as recommended by the County Executive.

**Sponsor(s)**: Turner, Davis, Dernoga, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Whole

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>R2020050</u>

CR-050-2020 Solid Waste Plan

CR-050-2020 AIS

Panel Guests:

Joe Gill, Director, Department of the Environment (DOE)

Tim Richards, Deputy Associate Director, DOE Resource Recovery Division (RRD)

Kevin Serrona, Senior Planner, DOE Resource Recovery Division (RRD)

Evelyn Hoban, Associate Director, Health Department Division of

Environmental Health/Disease Control

Darryl Lee Flick, DOE - Special Assistant to the Associate Director Maria Martin, MNCPPC

Joel Caudill, WSSC - Joel.Caudill@wsscwater.com (unable to attend; written comments provided)

J. Kenneth Battle, Director of the Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee provided an overview of CR-50-2020. Mr. Joseph Gill, Director of the Department of Environment provided further details and responded to Council Member questions regarding providing responses to the questions posed by Sierra Club, the Landfill Tax Credit, map of impacted areas, extension of the landfill at Brown Station Road for an additional 25 years, enhanced litter cleanup, second day waste pickup, food composting and action plan, educational plan, Solid Waste Enterprise Fund and styrofoam and plastic straw ban. The Council Chair announced that CR-50-2020 would be heard again in a future Committee of the Whole to allow the Department of Environment ample time for responding to Council Member questions. Concluded at 2:46 p.m.

#### This Resolution was Held in Committee.

**Present** 11 - Todd Turner

Monique Anderson-Walker

**Derrick Davis** 

Thomas Dernoga

Mel Franklin

Dannielle Glaros

**Sydney Harrison** 

Calvin S. Hawkins

Jolene Ivey

Rodney Streeter

Deni Taveras

CR-085-2020

#### A RESOLUTION CONCERNING PUBLIC SAFETY FACILITIES

Draft 1

**SURCHARGE** for the purpose of approving a partial waiver of the public safety facilities surcharge for all residential units of the mixed-use Atworth Project.

**Sponsor(s):** Turner, Glaros, Taveras, Davis and Dernoga

Attachment(s): R2020085

CR-085-2020 AIS CR-085-2020 Report

Panel Guests:

Angie Rodgers, DCAO for Economic Development Robert Gilbane, Gilbane Development Company Matthew Michetti, Gilbane Development Company Eben Smith, Gilbane Development Company

Howard W. Stone, Director of Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee, provided an overview of CR-085-2020. The Office of Law noted that this Resolution is in proper legislative form with no legal impediments to its adoption. Angie Roberts, DCAO for Economic Development facilitated a PowerPoint presentation that focused on the Project Summary, Delivery Schedule, Existing Conditions, Site Plan, View from Metro Station, Brooks Parcel and River Road, Financial Information, Public Safety Facilities Surcharge, Increment Tax Revenue Projections and Fiscal Impact. Concluded at 3:18 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Turner, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison,

Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

**Abstain:** 1 - Anderson-Walker

#### **ADJOURN**

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 3:21 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Anderson-Walker, seconded by Vice Chair Hawkins, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.